Sweet Melissa Sundays

Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice P&Q

Posted on: June 20, 2011

Post date:  7/10/11
Host:  Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

5 Responses to "Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice P&Q"

I made this pie for Father’s Day. It’s a pretty pie, but mine came out very, very tart. I like plums, but don’t really care for the skin. Melissa’s recipe calls for keeping the skin on and she says it brings a bright red color to the pie….which it does. But I thought it left my pie way too tart and slighly bitter (because the flesh of the plums were sweet). And I actually only left the skin on half my plums. Next time I would skip the skin.

The almond lattice is tasty. It’s a bit difficult to work with. I made a mistake and tried to separate the strips right after I cut them…that definitely doesn’t work. Just cut them and put your baking sheet in the frigde for at least 20 minutes. I used a small spatula to help get each strip off the parchment. Then when you work with the strips, work quickly. I probably should have put mine back in the fridge halfway through as they started to get soft.

This pie pairs perfectly with Melissa’s Brown Sugar Vanilla Ice Cream.

Looking foward to seeing everyone’s pies!

Thanks for writing such a detailed recap of your experience Gloria! The tips will definitely come in handy 🙂 Now I just need to grab some plums so I can get the pie done before the weekend.

My pie is in the oven now, and I echo Gloria’s comments on the almond lattice. I found it really tricky to work with. Even well chilled, mine was still fragile and broke if I wasn’t extremely careful with it. I’m hoping it’ll be worth the effort, I snuck a few bites and it was very tasty!

My lattice top is an absolute mess! I’m sure it will taste good, but they were so crumbly!

You’re not alone Margot! Mine looked halfway decent before it went in the oven, but all bets were off after that.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
