Sweet Melissa Sundays

The Final Recipes!!!

Posted on: May 15, 2011

This is it! The last SIX recipes. This has been a wonderful experience and I’m so glad to have met so many great bakers! Until our next bake along group…

June 5: Pear Cranberry Pie with Gingersnap Crumble hosted by Dawn of Growing Up and Getting Healthy After 40

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

And I will make my SMS come-back with our FINAL recipe of the book:
August 21:  Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More

23 Responses to "The Final Recipes!!!"

If only Melissa had another book in the works. Anybody up for blogging their way through Bon Appetit’s Desserts book?

I’d be willing to host the peach preserves recipe in August if you still need someone.

I’d volunteer for the peach preserves as I never got to host, but I know I won’t get peaches here in August! Damn!

It has been such a pleasure to bake along with everyone for these past few years! And even though I’ve been a total loser lately (I think I’ve missed most of the recipes so far this year), I’m surprisingly sad that it’s all ending!! I got the SoNo Baking Company Book for Christmas and would love to bake my way through it, if anyone wants to join me…

Karen, my interest is peaked! I bought this book a few months ago and have yet to try some recipes out. I’ve heard such great things about the Baked boys creations. I like the size of this book too, with only 70 or so recipes. We could get through it in a year and a half. I am definitely interested in working through the Baked Explorations book. 🙂

(Sorry Dawn, Bon Appetite Desserts is a little too daunting with more than 600 recipes…wow! Melissa, as much as I love to buy cookbooks I would love to dig into one I already have).

I just ordered the book yesterday (i was intrigued by all the reviews)! 70 recipes sounds very doable. If we can get enough people onboard, I will definitely start another (monthly) group.

I might potentially be interested in a Baked Explorations bake-through too! I’ve tried a few recipes from the book and been completely wowed. (Probably worth noting there is a group out there already baking through the book – I think they’re called Baked Sunday Mornings.)

awwww…. i didnt know there was a group already…i can still start another one i guess or we can join that group… but they’re about half-way through.

I just got my BAKED cookbook and notice that the baked sunday group doesnt have all the recipes so if there are enough people onboard id still like to start another group and try to bake all the recipes.

Count me in.

I’m in! I’d love to bake my way through this one! I’ve heard great things about it – and I’ve made two recipes from it and loved them both.

Count me in!

Monthly or 2x a month? Starting june or july?

I’d be happy to join as well!!

I think starting July (monthly) is a good idea.

I wouldn’t mind doing weekly…but if the group prefers a monthly approach, I vote for 2 times a month. With SMS it already seems like ages between recipes. July is good.

It does seem to take awhile between posts, but it is nice to have a little more freedom with choosing baked goods when we are at a x2/month schedule. When it was every week, I felt like SMS recipes were all I made.

I’m in for another book. I was lamenting the end of this one since I missed many of the recipes!

Ok… Gimme a few days to set up everything. I’ll send an email out shortly. Looks like 2x a week is good. We’ll get to bake a lot withour going overboard (weekly) and without taking forever (monthly)

Yey! I’m excited! 2x a month is perfect – I love the pace this is at right now.

In case any of you own (or have easy access to) Flo Braker’s “Baking for all Occasions”, I just wanted to let everyone know that I’ve started a baking group last year called the Avid Baker’s Challenge, where we bake recipes from Flo’s book (not every single recipe though). We’re baking from this book on a monthly basis (soon to be twice a month starting August). In 2012 we’ll bake from a different book (yet to be determined at this point). Please feel free to join us. Karen of http://www.karenscookiescakesnmore.com/ just joined us today 😀 If you’d like more info, please visit the ABC blog: http://avidbakerschallenge.blogspot.com/

Okay, in retrospect, 600 recipes can be a bit too..much. Checked out Baked Explorations at Amazon and that sounds great…would love to bake along with all of you on that book.

Dawn, I will email you the details.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
