Sweet Melissa Sundays

Strawberry Rhubarb Preserves P&Q

Posted on: April 4, 2011

Post date: 4/17/11
Host: Tracey’s Culinary Adventures

9 Responses to "Strawberry Rhubarb Preserves P&Q"

There aren’t too many recipes left, but I tried to pick something somewhat seasonal. Hope everyone likes the preserves! I am planning to make them early so I’ll let you know how it goes.

I’m having some trouble locating rhubarb. Does anyone have any ideas for substitutions? I have a great flat of strawberries in the fridge just waiting for me to try this =)

You could check my freezer, I have tons of it from my garden last year 😀 But I’ve also seen it in the freezer section at my local grocery store. If you can’t find rhubarb, I would make an all-strawberry jam, especially since you got a flat anyway. You might want to reduce the sugar a bit. A couple years ago I made Strawberry-Rhubarb preserves using the recipe in this book and it was wonderful. I blogged about it here: http://hanaaskitchen.blogspot.com/2009/07/sms-strawberry-rhubarb-preserves.html

On a general note, I LOVE this preserves recipe. I’ve used it MANY times to make all sorts of jams. I’m eating some homemade triple berry jam (strawberry, raspberry, blackberry) swirled into plain yogurt right now and it’s delicious. I swirl it into yogurt, oatmeal, flavor whipped cream with it, fill my turnovers with it, all sorts of good stuff.

FYI – for anyone looking for rhubarb… I asked Shane to stop and check Whole Foods for me and while they didn’t have any out in the produce section, there was some in the back. It might pay to ask if you don’t see it 🙂

Whole Foods is where i found my rhubarb.

The store where I bought rhubarb last week didn’t have it! I was planning on making the preserves tonight. I don’t have a lot of spare time this weekend, but I’m still optimistic that I’ll find rhubarb and make this by Sunday night.

I wound up using frozen rhubarb for mine (I found it at Whole Foods), as it was much cheaper than the fresh. It worked perfectly. No worries if you end up having to sit out this week Margot – with the wedding less than a month out, I’m sure you have plenty to do! 🙂

I have this on the stove at the moment but it is taking ages to get to 212°. It’s hovering around 200-205 and has been for half an hour!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
