Sweet Melissa Sundays

Speakeasy P&Q

Posted on: January 11, 2011

(Post date:  January 23, 2011)

9 Responses to "Speakeasy P&Q"

I just noticed that this recipe and the next one (Sacher Torte) are very close (same recipe with different filling), so I was thinking of making minis, half Speakeasy and half Sacher Torte style, what do you think?

I was thinking the same thing! Kill 2 birds with one stone. 🙂

What size/type cake pans do you use to make your minis?

I have a “Texas” size muffin pan that works great for mini cakes, here is a link to a cake I scaled down and made minis with baked in that pan — http://nummykitchen.blogspot.com/search?q=perfect+party+cake

I think I’ll use that again for this recipe.

I have 6 inch cake pans that I plan to use.

Mmm, good idea! I like the mini idea. I think I’m going to be VERY creative with this one and adapt it to my family’s tastes.

Halved the recipe the first time and made in 3 mini springform pans. For some reason the top crusted but once I cut into it, there was a HUGE crater beneath the surface. Going to try it again. I hope it turns out better the second time around, as I don’t have great luck with egg whites in cake. *crosses fingers*

Mine is baking right now. I used a 9×2 round pan instead of a 8×2 because I don’t have one – and I have no idea how it would have fit in the smaller pan! I filled my 9×2 very high and I still had enough for 5 cupcakes!! Anyone else have a LOT of batter? Maybe I whipped it too much?

So I decided to go ahead and do the whole cake instead of minis. It is in the oven baking now. I used the springform mentioned later in the recipe (which is approx 8 by 4) and hopefully the batter won’t overflow!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
