Sweet Melissa Sundays

Strawberry Muffins with Fresh Lemon and Rosemary P&Q

Posted on: November 8, 2010

8 Responses to "Strawberry Muffins with Fresh Lemon and Rosemary P&Q"

Has anyone ever tried mixing these, refrigerating the batter overnight and baking the next morning? I want to take muffins to work but don’t really want to make the whole recipe in the am. 🙂

I haven’t tried that. If you want to bake them fresh for work maybe prep everything the night before….measure out the dry ingredients, wet ingredients, chop the fruit, etc. Prep your muffin pan and then put it all together in the morning in the time it takes your oven to preheat. Good luck!

I’m really hesitant about the rosemary. I don’t like it in savory dishes so I’m thinking I wont care for it in these muffins. Am I allowed to leave it out?

I’m hoping I’ll have time to make these. Right now the plan is to sub blueberries for the strawberries and skip the rosemary (blueberry + lemon = yum) 🙂 I might add some flax seeds for a little crunch (+ fiber), like I did last year when I made SMS sweet muffins: http://hanaaskitchen.blogspot.com/2009/11/sms-pear-cranberry-muffins-with.html

I am going to do the orange blueberry muffins with pecan topping….thats what I have in the house!

I was going to go with strawberry leaving out the rosemary but the pint was $5! I then decided to copy Hanaa and went with blueberry.

I’m sitting out this week. Strawberries aren’t in season anymore and don’t look good in the store, and I already made these muffins with blueberries and citrus once.

Strawberries are out of season and I wanted to stay close to the berry. I ended up reconstituting a mix from Costco that has cherries, blueberries, cranberries and I think mango. The berries were soft, not like the original berry but a good “in-between”. I used less than a pinch of rosemary because I am simply not brave and also because I made these gluten-free for my husband. When I bake GF, I know it has to be according to his needs and likes.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
