Sweet Melissa Sundays

10/17/10: Bakers’ Links to Fluffy Coconut Cake with Passion Fruit Filling

Posted on: October 17, 2010

13 Responses to "10/17/10: Bakers’ Links to Fluffy Coconut Cake with Passion Fruit Filling"

I came close to trying this, but after a week where I have had some major meltdowns, I went for something family related and tried a recipe my ‘MIL’ sent me for Pineapple Fridge Tart. You know sometimes you just need to seek some comfort in tradition. I will be back next week!

Thanks to those that baked along with me. Alas, here’s my post, minus the photos.

http://www.karenscookiescakesnmore.com/2010/10/sms-fluffy-coconut-cake-with-passion.html

One hour to spare! I didn’t make the whole recipe, but what I did make (the white cake) was great!

http://efforttodeliciousness.blogspot.com/2010/10/note-quite-sms-white-cake-with.html

we loved this, sorry I am late publishing. Thanks Karen for choosing it will be a use later recipe.

OFF TOPIC: I have a question about this cake: I know many of you baked Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake — how does Dorie’s cake compare with Melissa’s cake?

If you had to choose a cake for a birthday party, which would you make?

Karen – I saw your comment about this on my site too. I wish I had a good answer, but it’s been so long since I baked Dorie’s PPC that I honestly can’t compare them fairly. Maybe someone else who has a better memory than me can chime in. If it were me, I’d probably bake Melissa’s recipe since it was fresh in my mind, but that likely doesn’t help you much 🙂

Hmm, they’re both really good! I may give a slight bias towards the PPC because liked the slight hint of citrus (which you could add to this one, of course) and loved the entire composed cake with raspberry filling and buttercream frosting. However, I remember it being a little fussier to make – Dorie even gave extra instructions to the group – so in that regard, your probably fine with this one.

Dorie’s cake is much better IMO 🙂 esp with fresh fruit

i’ve made it twice….once w/the whipped cream and then w/the buttercream. i hate buttercream and i LOVED dorie’s buttercream recipe 🙂

http://www.goodeatsblog.com/2008/03/let-them-eat-cake_30.html

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
