Sweet Melissa Sundays

Fluffy Coconut Cake with Passion Fruit Filling P&Q

Posted on: October 11, 2010

8 Responses to "Fluffy Coconut Cake with Passion Fruit Filling P&Q"

I’m going away again this weekend and won’t be able to make it in time… it sounds so good though. (I might do it in the next week or two and post it late.) Have fun baking!

I made the cake as a mini cake and as cupcakes. Without the filling or frosting the cupcakes tasted really good… going to work on the cake in the next few days. I’m having the hardest time finding passion fruit juice.

I’m really excited about this one, although I think I will be switching out the passion fruit filling for pineapple filling. Also not sure if I want to make cupcakes or a whole cake…

I can’t find passion fruit juice anywhere so I’ll probably use Melissa’s suggestion for lemon instead. I might make a mini layer cake since I’ve made a ton of cupcakes lately.

Sorry Karen. I will be passing on this one. I can’t eat coconut (allergies). The combination of coconut and passion fruit sounds wonderfully exotic. I’m thinking that if you can’t find passion fruit juice, you might want to look for mango nectar (or make your own). You can find canned passion fruit as well as canned mangoes in the ethnic/Indian food isle at the store.

I made this last night and it was delicious. I found Passion fruit in a can at wal-mart if that helps. I only made half the cake recipe as her cakes have always been a bit heavy and it was perfect. I did have leftover icing and saved it for bagels this morning. It was a wonderful breakfast treat.

One more attempt to look for passion fruit juice. I’ll be checking out Target & Walmart tomorrow. Wish me luck. If not, I might go with lemon filling as the alternate.

Thanks for the tips Hanaa! I didn’t even think to look for canned passion fruit. Hopefully I’ll have a chance to get to the store tomorrow to check.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
