Sweet Melissa Sundays

Lemon Blueberry Buttermilk Pie P&Q

Posted on: September 13, 2010

6 Responses to "Lemon Blueberry Buttermilk Pie P&Q"

I made this last week and it was delicious! It reminded my family of lemon bars but in pie form. Definitely a winner. My only problem was the dang all butter pie crust! It always shrinks significantly on me, and this time, despite my many efforts, it did it again. If you’ve had the same problem, I recommend just doing the regular pie crust with butter and shortening.

Thanks for reminding us about the shrinking. I’ve experienced that twice with that recipe and always forget about it until the pie crust is baking in the oven and I peek through the window and see it shriveling up 🙂

Looking forward to making this one, never baked or even tasted a buttermilk pie before.

Im looking fwd to baking this pie! It sounds so good!! I will use my faithful never fail pie crust recipe!

I made this yesterday. I used more of a quiche or deep dish pan. It took FOREVER to set up in the oven. I read the recipe again and I don’t think I left anything out or measured anything wrong. Not sure what happened. I haven’t tried it yet, hoping it turned out okay.

I will be having a lot of “firsts” this coming weekend. Not only will it be my first time making a pie with something other than a cookie crust but it will be my first time baking with SMS. I love lemon desserts and blueberries….can’t wait to give it a try!

I have a wonderful recipe for a sweet pie crust that can be pre baked WITHOUT the need to fill the crust with beans or pie weights … it does not slump in the pan and it is very deliciious – freezes well AND you can cut circles out of it (a little bit thicker than you would use for a pie crust – and make SABLE cookes with cinnamon sugar on top.

I’d be happy to send it to you.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
