Sweet Melissa Sundays

Sweet Almond Cake with Lemon Curd and Lemon Mascarpone Frosting P&Q

Posted on: August 16, 2010

10 Responses to "Sweet Almond Cake with Lemon Curd and Lemon Mascarpone Frosting P&Q"

I would love some ideas as to what to do with 12 egg yolks please! It seems like an awful lot of custard! Perhaps I could add some to a quiche and some to a custard…

I bought a small container of egg white egg beaters, and added 3 more egg’s worth of egg whites to it to make it equal to 12 egg yolks. I couldn’t see throwing away 12 yolks, and I knew if I put them in my freezer for future use I’d never use them. 🙂 The egg beaters beat up real nicely.

Do you have an ice cream maker? Making ice cream is my go-to for extra egg yolks. I’m only going to make half of this cake, so I won’t be too overwhelmed with yolks.

I made the cake last night-frosting and eating tonight. I halved the recipe but only used 4 eggs whites, still seemed to generate enough volume to make a nice light cake. I’ll let you know how it tastes tomorrow!

What size pans did you used when you halved the recipe?

I just used one 8 inch cake pan and then sliced it into two thin layers. This cake was very tasty, good almond flavor with lots of lemon zing.

So sorry I can not participate this week. We have family visting from PA. It has been pretty crazy around here!
See ya next week!

Hey guys!

I halved this recipe and still got a layer cake, I just split one of the layers in half :p I also halved the frosting and just used it to fill the cake. I’m on a diet for my holiday so heavily frosted cakes are a no no.

Also, I have a food giveaway over at my blog, go check it out!

http://iheartkatiecakes.blogspot.com/

I’m sitting out, but will make the lemon butter to slather on some toast!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
