Sweet Melissa Sundays

Cherry Almond Granola P&Q

Posted on: August 9, 2010

11 Responses to "Cherry Almond Granola P&Q"

This just seems like it has a lot of ingredients that I need to run out and buy. Powdered milk? I can’t find just a small amount anywhere.

Any ideas on how to super simplify this but still turn out a good end result?

I think granola is pretty adaptable. I made it a while ago (from “The Craft of Baking”) and subbed dried fruit/nuts that I like and had on hand, not exactly what was in the recipe.

I haven’t read this recipe so I don’t know where the powdered milk comes in. I bought powdered milk when the group made Brown Sugar Vanilla Ice Cream last summer and still have some left, despite having made the ice cream about half a dozen times.

I got my powdered milk in the bulk section ..It’s nice cus you can get as much as you like!

I made this last night and it’s very good!

Can’t wait to try this out, as I’ve been wanting to make granola for months. Don’t know about the powdered milk- I’ll try looking in bulk.

don’t you love “craft of baking”? i really liked the lemon bars. I hope to visit the restaurant where karen demasco is pastry chef.

I think I have malted milk powder… do you think it would make an enormous difference if I were to sub it for the powdered milk called for in the recipe?

Stephanie – I think you could probably just leave it out altogether and it wouldn’t make a big difference. It’s the first granola recipe I’ve ever seen call for powdered milk.

I’ll have the post up at 12:01am Pacific time. 🙂

thanks Tracey! I gave in and went out and bought some dry milk powder anyway… only because Margot mentioned it goes in the ice cream, too! So I made the ice cream AND the granola. 🙂 The granola is in the oven right now and the smell in my house is OUT OF THIS WORLD! If it wasn’t over 100 degrees here in FL I’d think it was fall based on the smell!

you are soooo right! it’s in the nineties in Chicago, but absolutely smells like fall in my apartment right now!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
