Sweet Melissa Sundays

Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Torte P&Q

Posted on: August 2, 2010

8 Responses to "Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Torte P&Q"

Hi ladies. I’m so excited to get back into baking with you–after being gone for the entire month of July! I’m having a great Smart Spice give-away on my blog, and I’d love for you all to enter. Smart Spices are organic spices that come in foil-lined, pre-measured 1 teaspoon packets, so they stay fresh longer than the spices packaged in clear, plastic bottles. I’ve loved using mine, and their company is letting me give away an entire set of 16 spices. Visit my blog to enter: http://www.luluthebaker.blogspot.com

I made this today and it was exactly like Melissa Murphy describes: the consistency of a rich, chocolate truffle studded with fresh raspberries. My husband and I loved it. A few tips:

–Don’t worry that it looks completely wet and underbaked when you take it out of the oven; it’ll turn out perfect.
–Be careful when you flip it over to serve it. If I were to do it again, I would put a piece of parchment or waxed paper over the first plate, then flip it, remove the bottom of the springform pan, and then flip it back onto a serving plate. I didn’t line the first plate with anything and it made quite a mess!

I baked in a 9 inch springform because that’s all I seemed to have and I didn’t have a roasting pan big enough to fit it for the water bath so I baked without it.

My torte is a bit thin with raspberries poking through the top. If you only have a 9 inch springform, I suggest making an extra 1/4 of the recipe. Also, my edges are a bit tougher than the center, which I assume is due to the lack of the water bath, so don’t skip it. And if you do, I suggest baking for less time.

The torte DOES come out of the oven looking un-set. Don’t worry, it sets up in the fridge.

I bought some raspberries yesterday and didn’t even pay attention to what the recipe was. I will make this on Saturday. Thanks fornthw tips!

i made this and i’m soo confused about the results.. mine is puddingy or moussey almost? not sure if that is rightttt haha. so curious to see how everyone else’s came out!

I made a mini in a 4″ springform pan and totally guessed on the baking time since there really weren’t any visual clues in the recipe – just the time. I’m going to have my husband taste it tonight….we’ll see!

I made mine in a 9″ springform pan so it was a bit thin and the raspberries were poking through but it still tasted great! you definitely need to serve straight from the fridge or else it’s too soft. I didn’t flip mine over, just cut it into squares and served! loved it.

I just made one in the same size pan and forgot to reduce the baking time – oops! At least if it doesn’t turn out it’s just a tiny dessert, not a huge pan.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
