Sweet Melissa Sundays

Chocolate Peppermint Meringues P&Q

Posted on: July 26, 2010

7 Responses to "Chocolate Peppermint Meringues P&Q"

I’m not too sure what I did wrong but my meringues came out… weird… the inside of it was hollow. Maybe I whipped too long? I’m not too sure. Trouble shooting?

Hi! I haven’t baked these yet since it’s been both miserably hot (like, 105 degrees, I am just not turning on an oven, or even moving if I can help it) and humid — not good for meringues! But the worst of the heat appears to have broken, and we’re projected to have a relatively cool 90 degree high today, so I’ll give these a crack tonight and be back with thoughts.

I am going to pass on this one!! I am just not sure meringue is going to work with our heat and humidity. I will be anxious to see how everyone’s turn out!

Hmmm, mine are chewy too, which I’m sure has nothing at all to do with the 77% humidity. I googled around and found two theories on hollow meringues: One, a too-high starting temperature, and two, not using enough cream of tartar.

Mine’s posted! They were really delicious — I hope everyone enjoyed making them!

passing. I’ve been sad and kinda busy with life recently. Somehow I’m always busy during the summer and the year. Regardless, but I’ll talk about my life and what not during the week when I’ll be posting again.

This is my first time doing this and mine came out kinda chewy also but I took some advice and when the cooking time was done turned off the oven and just let them sit for longer. They crisped up nicely in the end I think.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
