Sweet Melissa Sundays

Toasted Almond Lemon Bars P&Q

Posted on: July 19, 2010

14 Responses to "Toasted Almond Lemon Bars P&Q"

I will be making these at a later date due to travel this weekend. Have a good weekend!

These sound SO good, I am hoping to getting to them before I leave for vacation on Saturday but if not, I’m afraid I’ll be missing out 😦

I tried to make these earlier this week and the crust didn’t work for me at all. It sort of disintegrated in the oven and couldn’t be salvaged. I’m hoping to find time to try again.

Sorry I’m late in getting around to see all the brownies from this past Sunday. How is it already almost Thursday??

Gasp! I hope I didn’t pick a bad recipe! I’m getting ready to get them started!!

I made these last night and I must say that the dough is fussy! (Could be baker error, but just in case) sprinkle flour on it and your hands before trying to press it down into the pan, you want to work quickly. It was SO soft that I threw it in the freezer for 15 mins just to firm up enough to be able to cover it with foil and pie weights.

I would also recommend baking it completely through with the foil and pie weights in place because once I took the foil off and baked for only a few mins more, it shrunk and cracked.

The filling was VERY runny and I was hesitant to pour it into my cracked crust but I pressed on and hoped for the best. The filling DOES set up quite nicely so don’t worry if your filling is runny.

I haven’t tasted it yet, but it smells delish!

It’s in the oven as I write this. So far so good!
I will be out of town on Sunday. I will not have any access to a computer there fore I will be unable to leave my link. Please stop by and see my bars!! You can also read where Im at!!

Oh don’t worry you did not..these are the BEST lemon bars I have ever made or tasted in my life!! This recipe gets a 100% and a A plus from me!!

Mine came out perfect. I halved the recipe and Im telling you these are the best lemon bars I have ever made or tasted in my life. My 12 year old son loves them too!!

Thanks for the tips gals! I’m looking forward to making these.

Michelle, I’m going to half the recipe as well….what size pan did you use? What type of pan did you use (metal, nonstick, glass, corningwear)?

I forgot to update last night. These were good! I was surprised at how runny the lemon seemed,but it set up nice. I was also worried cause I had some chunks (visible) of butter in my crust, but I followed the instructions and I got no cracking or holes, and they turned out pretty!! I didn’t have almond extract (for those who’ve read my blog- borrowed kitchen) so I just left it out. I’m sure it would have pushed them over the edge!

I used a glass 8×8 inch(2qt) size pan.

Oh I just sprayed the pan with some nonstick spray and the bars lid out of the pan with no problem. I did not use the parchement paper, I was having a hard time getting it into the pan.

That would be SLID…:)))

these turned out AMAZING! they are definitely dangerous to have around the house. nice well rounded lemon flavor!

and the crust… oh my. i think that’s my favorite part!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
