Sweet Melissa Sundays

Chocolate Walnut Brownies P&Q

Posted on: July 12, 2010

15 Responses to "Chocolate Walnut Brownies P&Q"

made these yesterday in cupcake liners. Super fast and yummy!

I will be skipping these as I already made them last year (sans nuts) when we made the SMS Brooklyn Brownout Cake (http://hanaaskitchen.blogspot.com/2009/04/sms-2-brooklyn-brownout-cake.html). They’re delicious, but super rich though.

These are great! I am a dense, not too fudgy, not cakey, chocolatey brownie lover. In other words, I am super picky. And these pleased me AND all of Tony’s co-workers. He said 2 minutes flat… they were gone.

THAT good!!

I made these over the weekend. I like the texture–fudgy and moist. I think the 2 sticks of butter ensured a moist brownie. I misread the recipe and used dark chocolate (70%) instead of unsweetened. To make up for it I added in a tablespoon of cocoa powder, but I felt the brownies weren’t chocolately enough for my taste. I added some chocolate ganache on top to add a little extra chocolate kick.

I made these when the list for July came out and we were quite happy with them. I don’t remember the details, other than they were good. They were easy to put together and they were decent brownies.

http://sweetsav.blogspot.com

made them with pecans instead and they came out well

Made them and they taste delicious. Not sure if I undercooked but they came out a bit fudgy (still delish though).

Speaking of brownies, this is the perfect time to ask this question. Who uses good quality chocolate when they bake? Since they have NO specialty baking stores around here, and they have a terrible selection at grocery stores, I am looking to buy good Dutch-process cocoa powder and solid baking chocolate online. What brands do you all use? I’d love to hear some of your thoughts on this!

Stephanie, sometimes I use good quality choc and sometimes I don’t. It depends on the application of the chocolate. My favorite good quality choc has to be Callebaut (can be found at King Arthur). My next fav which is readily available is Ghirardelli. As for cocoa powder, I like Blooker Cacao, which I bring with me when I visit Holland. Short of that, I prefer the brand Droste which is imported Holland. Another good Dutch cocoa is the High Fat one at penzeys.com. I have never tried it but I’ve heard good things about it. Hope that helps. Good luck!

I love Double Dutch Cocoa from King Arthur. YUM.

I made these and put them in foil cupcake liners, I liked them…but I’ll agree they could use more chocolate to them. Or maybe a caramel on top…

I use Valrhona unsweetened cocoa powder, which is amazing (and Dutch-processed). You can get it at http://www.chocosphere.com, which has a huge assortment of baking and eating chocolates. I also use Callebaut bittersweet or semisweet, which I’ve gotten at Whole Foods Market

Happy Shopping!

Made these a couple days ago and they turned out super delicious. I’m not a chocolate lover but I enjoyed the fudgey texture and flavor they got from the nuts 🙂

thanks Hanaa! I’ve never heard of Blooker, I’ll have to check that one out too. I’m going to see what K.A.Flour has, too. Thanks for the input!!

I wish I had a Whole Foods close to me! I’d be such a happy baker. Thanks for the link–I’m going to check out chocosphere as well! Thanks Rebecca!

Valrhona cocoa powder is the best! I like Scharffenberger, too, when I’m not using dutch-process; I buy it at Whole Foods, but I’m sure it’s available online somewhere.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
