Sweet Melissa Sundays

Chestnut Honey Madeleines P&Q

Posted on: June 14, 2010

19 Responses to "Chestnut Honey Madeleines P&Q"

If I don’t have this type of pan, what shape should the cookies be in?

They are scallop shaped little cake like cookies. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Madeleine_(cake)
I would think you could bake them in a muffin tin and just fill the tin 1/4 full.

I don’t have the pan either. Now that I see this recipe, I think I’ve passed it by on the shelves at Goodwill several times 🙂

I think I am going to try in a mini muffin tin.

Can’t wait to see what you girls do with this one. I will be out of town, so no baking for me. I’ll have to live vicariously through your blogs!!

I bought mini madeleine pans several years ago and used them once. I’m looking forward to dusting them off and using them again!

I didn’t think about Goodwill. I will try to stop by one this week.

When we made madeleines for Tuesdays with Dorie I think many people baked them in mini muffin tins and had good results. Also, here’s an interesting link about baking them in spoons! I’ve never tried it so no idea how they’d turn out but they’re awfully cute 🙂 http://www.spoonfulblog.com/2007/11/spoon-madeleines-and-adventure.html

My mini madeleine pan is probably the least-used, but cutest, pan in my cabinet. This is a great excuse to use it again.

Boo. Bummed I have to miss this one – I love madeleines!! I’ll definitely be back for the Gingersnaps, though. Have a great week, ladies!!

I have to miss this week as well – I’ve never made madeleines and love a challenge! Bummer. See you all next week for gingersnaps! Perfect timing on that one since my brother will be in town and he LOVES gingersnaps!

I think I may be missing this one now.

I love an excuse to buy a pan. So I’ll be looking tomorrow! I might be a bit late in posting- I have cupcakes to do as well!! Looks like tomorrow afternoon will be BUSY!

Anyone know if they have these pans at JoAnns/Michaels??

I’ve never seen madeleine pans at the Michaels or JoAnn’s by me but maybe you’ll have more luck. I got mine at Crate & Barrel a few years ago, but I’m not sure if they still carry them.

oh buy. these came out DELICIOUS. I had to use pecans instead of hazelnuts (hazelnuts are no where to be found in central florida this time of year), but these were so good. My fiance doesn’t even like pecans and he can’t get enough of these!

I agree with Stephanie that these are delicious! The recipe did not specify to, but if you are baking two pans at once, I recommend rotating in the middle of baking; the ones in the pan on the bottom third of the oven came out quite a bit darker.

I feel like a SMS slacker..but seriously Im busy!! Sorry I can’t bake this week.

So I finally got the pan from a friend, but I don’t feel like using nuts, suggestions on sub? Regular AP flour?

I have the pans, both regular sized and mini. But the chestnut honey that I ordered from the internet has not yet arrived. I’ll bake these as soon as I have all my ingredients.
Of course, Williams-Sonoma has the pans if you are interested in buying them.

So sorry I couldn’t bake this week . . . too. darn. hot.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
