Sweet Melissa Sundays

Coconut Custard Pie P&Q

Posted on: May 24, 2010

17 Responses to "Coconut Custard Pie P&Q"

I am going to miss this one! We’ll be out of town for a long holiday weekend. I will look forward to reading everyone’s posts when I return.

Im going to be out of town too. Sorry I will not be baking with you all!

Can anyone think of a good sub for coconut? I think I’m the only coconut lover in my family! I was thinking lemon, but am not sure how that would work. Your thoughts are appreciated! Thanks!

What about banana? If I am recalling correctly (don’t have my cookbook handy), the coconut is purely a flavor add in and not a liquid component of the recipe. And maybe add in a bit of banana extract to bump up the banana flavor?

Or if you wanted to do lemon, maybe you could primarily use lemon zest (and possibly a bit of juice)?

I am debating on this recipe myself…I’m not a fan of coconut. Actually that’s not true, I enjoy the flavor but don’t care for the texture. Will keep pondering….

I made this last night, and both my husband and I loved it! I had problems with the crust, but the filling was delicious. I can’t think of a good substitute off the top of my head for the coconut. Maybe finely chopped macadamia nuts??? Since it is a baked custard pie (like pumpkin or pecan), I can’t even imagine bananas in it, but maybe it would work.

Thanks everyone! I’ll hopefully get a chance to try something out this weekend, but we will be out of town, so who knows. Hope everyone has a great LONG weekend!

I need to check what all is required…but I’m gonna try to give this a go…(especially since I didn’t get the pralines posted until Tuesday!)

I was on the fence about this one but wound up making it at the last minute before I left for vacation. I didn’t try any, but my mom and her coworkers thought it was great!

I really want to make this pie, but I have a contractor coming today to lay subfloor in my kitchen and rip out some cabinets for my new (and much improved!!!!) stove. If he gets everything done today, I will probably head into the kitchen tomorrow to make this. Can’t wait to see how everyone else’s turns out!!

I think I will make a third of the recipe and only make the custard.

I’m still debating about this one – I would love to make it, but I’m afraid I’m the only one who likes coconut… and I don’t want to have a whole pie for myself! 🙂 Unless I think of a good substitute, I think I’ll have to sit this one out. 😦

I made this one afterall. I had some time today! I made a mini pie!

I just put this in the oven, can’t wait to see how it turns out!

Sorry, but I’m going to have to skip this one. I’ve had a cold that has taken up residence in my sinuses.

Sorry, I won’t be able to make this one this week but I will be sure to check everyone’s out! Have a great holiday weekend everyone!

Ended up loving this pie, yum! Don’t think I’ll have a chance to post it today though, so I will post it with next week’s cookies.

I hope you all have a wonderful Memorial Day Weekend 🙂

I love coconut cream pie. this was good and I am glad that I finally got to participate.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
