Sweet Melissa Sundays

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel-Rum Raisin Sauce P&Q

Posted on: May 10, 2010

25 Responses to "Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel-Rum Raisin Sauce P&Q"

I just noticed were making bread pudding and a pie for TWD too. I think I will bake this weeks Pumpkin bread pudding and TWD pie at the end of the month. I would love to bake it all..but way to many fattening things to have in the house!

Sounds like a good plan, Michelle! I’m excited about doing two bread puddings, I’ll probably make half recipes of each.

This one sounds so good, I am thinking about trying a recipe for pumpkin brioche (instead of plain) to up the pumpkin factor…

Bakers,

Hi all! I’m hosting this week’s recipe, Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel-Rum Raisin Sauce.

I’ve made this recipe at least three times already. I even had one person willing to pay me for it. It is a keeper, especially the sauce!

I selected this recipe because I am gearing up to learn recipes for the fall season. I find myself at times baking the same recipes at Thanksgiving/Holidays because I didn’t have time to experiment with new recipes. So, I’m taking the proactive approach by starting early. 🙂

I want to share with you a TIP that I used for the Caramel Sauce.
>>Add 1 Tablespoon light corn syrup
to the sugar and water mixture.

This will prevent the syrup from seizing up. (I know by experience).

SPICES: I don’t use cinnamon sticks, so I’m substituting…
Instead of using cinnamon sticks,fresh ginger and whole cloves, I substituted using the following:
2 tsp pumpkin spice
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ginger

Vanilla beans: Since there is no guarantee of fresh vanilla beans every time, I use Vanilla Bean Paste by Nielsen-Massey. I purchased the 4 fl oz bottle at William Sonoma.

BTW, Friday, 5/7/10, I drove to Brooklyn, NY and stopped by Sweet Melissa’s two bakery locations…I had a blast. The staff was nice…and I bought some of the desserts. Sooo good!

I will be posting the photos of my trip on my blog 5/16. Stop by!

Carmen

Thank you so much for all the great tips! Im going to use them!

How cool that you got to visit SMS bakery!! I can’t wait to see the photos from your trip!

I want to bake this week – we’ll see if it can happen…when we did the almond bread pudding for SMS I searched and searched and could NOT find Brioche!!! And just a few weeks ago for the Sweet Potato Bread, I wanted to sub in pumpkin for the sweet potato – but couldn’t find that ANYWHERE either! So I suppose I’ll see if I have any better luck this time around 😦

Stephanie,

Thanks for bringing this up. I meant to discuss this, but forgot.

The first time I made the bread pudding, I couldn’t find the brioche bread anywhere. I actually went to a Bread Company and I ordered it. I did this the first time around. But, I found it to be too much a hassle. So, going forward, I used Challah bread, which is just as good. And, challah bread is sold everywhere. I even got my challah from SAMS Club for a better price than bakeries or the supermarket! 🙂

Carmen

Michelle,

I had the best time. Everyone was so friendly! I met Melissa’s sister. She was at the Park Slope location. Photos to come…

Carmen

Please note a change from my message of 5/10/10, 4:37pm:

Use 1 teaspoon corn syrup, NOT 1 Tablespoon to the sugar and water mixture for the caramel sauce.

Carmen

Im sure you did! Im so jealous!!

I won’t be able to bake along this week. Sorry Carmen. Going out of town for a long weekend. Appreciate your tips…I will definitely be making this recipe. It sounds divine! I love pumpkin and I love bread pudding. What a smart idea to test out fall recipes in advance. 😉 Can’t wait to see everyone’s photos.

I am actually starting finals – TOMORROW. I’ve got 4 in the next two days, so I don’t think I’ll be making this, but I might try the caramel sauce with a ice cream cupcake!

I’m afraid I won’t be baking along this week. I hate bread pudding almost as I hate the rum raisin alliance. This one just isn’t for me :p

Instead i’ll be rewinding last weeks blueberry muffins 🙂

Challah! Good idea! I think I can get that no problem here. Now all I have to do is find the pumpkin. If I’m lucky, I’ll have some extra challah left over for french toast, mmmm! 🙂

Stephanie,

Pumpkin (in a can) should be easy to find. It needs to be pumpkin, NOT pumpkin filling.

Look forward to your post!

Carmen

To those who can’t bake: I’ve not been able to bake every week due to commitments etc. So, it’s understandable!

But, don’t forget to stop by my blog and comment! 🙂

For those who ARE baking, I look forward to your posts, and I promise I will stop by every one of your posts and leave a comment.

Carmen

I’m bumming this week! This sounds amazing- but my Mom is flying in!

Rebecca,

There’s always another time to bake…Mom comes first! Enjoy your time with her. 🙂

Carmen

I’m making the brioche this morning, hopefully we’ll have some pumpkin bread pudding for dessert after dinner 🙂

Can’t wait to see how the bread pudding turns out for all of you! I’m not a big bread pudding fan so I’m going to do a rewind this week and I’m VERY excited about it 🙂

Andrea,

You’re MAKING the brioche. I am totally impressed! Can’t wait to see your post! 🙂

Carmen

I am sorry, I am not going to be able to bake with you. I doing a lot of substituting in recipes for my hubby with celiac but, I don’t have extra bread for him. I am going to skip both Dorie’s bread pudding and Melissa’s. It is funny, they came together on the lists.

I think, they both have coconut, nest week, also.

Good luck with the baking. I will miss it.

I must check out your experience with the bakeries.

Chaya

http:sweetsav.blogspot.com

I FINALLY got my posts up.

I have two posts. The first one is about my trip to the two Sweet Melissa Patisseries in Brooklyn, NY (lots of photos). The second is the SMS post. I also did a photo tutorial.

Carmen

Chaya,

Please do! There are lots of photos to view. You can get a sense of what its like…enjoy!

Carmen

This was an amazing dessert, I absolutely loved it! Thanks for a great pick, Carmen!

It just looked so good, but I was beset by difficulties. No pumpkin to be found in central Virginia. Oh well! Chocolate-cherry bread pudding for me!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
