Sweet Melissa Sundays

Orange Blueberry Muffins with Pecan Crumble P&Q

Posted on: May 3, 2010

26 Responses to "Orange Blueberry Muffins with Pecan Crumble P&Q"

These sound so incredibly good to me. I love pear, cranberry and gingersnaps are yummy! I will be baking this week for sure!

OOPs sorry I got the wrong recipe! SO the muffins we are making are the Orange Blueberry with Pecan crumble..they look good too!!

Maybe I shall substitute with strawberries because I don’t really have time to get blueberries from the store, but I shall see! It might just turn into a strawberry muffin with sugar as a topping!

I loved the pear/cranberry ones when we made them. These ones also sound excellent. Basically anything with a crumble topping sounds good to me.

What a great idea! I might make strawberry ones too!

I made these tonight. The pecan crumble makes the muffin a ‘suppa star’!

The baked muffin was a little dry. I know not to overmix the batter…maybe it was over baked.

My changes: I used lemon zest instead of orange zest and I used frozen blueberries.

I may redo to see if the muffin batter is a keeper or not. The topping definitely is.

We have used this muffin base for other muffins we have made with SMS and I remember them being heavy and dry.

We made the Pear Cranberry Muffins with Gingersnap Crumble before…they were dry but the topping was wonderful.

Michelle (Flourchild),

Thanks for your comments.

The first time i made these was the peach muffins back in Aug. and after reading the P&Q at that time i used more cream/milk. I’m going to do that again this time.

I made the strawberry muffins with lemon and rosemary about a month ago because I had some extra strawberries to use up. They didn’t work out so well. Very dense. Very doughy. I think I’m going to cut back the flour and increase the milk.

Do you think they’d be freezable? I have an event on the 15th I’d like to use these for.

I think adding more liquid is a great idea.

I might use some orange juice…

So the general consensus is to add more liquid? I’ll give er a go!

I freeze muffins now and again and they seem fine.

I added 1/4 of OJ to the milk/cream and used a very large orange to zest. Honestly to me, this muffin base isn’t worth nipping and tucking anymore. I am exasperated and these muffins are still heavy. A biiiit moister, but then again I baked them for 8 mins less than written.

I hope you all have better luck.

I forgot to note that FRESH blueberries are the way to go (used frozen and they don’t have that punch of flavor) and the orange flavor really shines.

I made these to go with dinner tonight. I considered leaving off the crumble topping to make them a little healthier, but decided to just go for it. Possibly one of my best decisions ever. My muffins were a little dry and a little heavy like everyone else’s, but that crumble topping made it all worth while!!

And I agree with Jeannette about the blueberries. Our grocery store was out of fresh blueberries (they’re always out of something), and I couldn’t really taste the frozen ones I used instead.

Hi Ladies!

Hope everyone is having a wonderful start to their weekend- I’m so excited to see how each of your muffins turned out tomorrow!

I hope you guys don’t mind, but I was actually hoping for some feedback/suggestions regarding a recipe that’s coming up in 2 weeks: the Coconut Custard Pie. I’m making it for Mother’s Day (coconut is my mom’s FAVORITE), and I would really love to use the mini (4″) tart pans I just got my hands on (they’ve been on my wish list forever). I get all worked up and nervous about baking times and determining when things are done, and I wasn’t sure if they’d take significantly less time in the oven for the crust to brown/custard to set. Are there any tell tale signs a custard pie is done? Any advice or ideas? I’d really appreciate your help, as I (of course) want my mom’s Mother’s Day sweet treat to be delicious (and perfectly baked)! If I can’t figure it out, I’ll just make the full pie. Has anyone tried this recipe yet?

Thanks so much for your time SMSters… I really appreciate it!

<3,
Joy
http://hotovenwarmheart.wordpress.com/

P.S.- Just wanted to mention, it's SO wonderful to be back. I missed you all very much! Hope to hear from you soon (either here or on my blog)!

Thanks for all the feedback that you guys have provided about the dryness. After reading everyone’s comment, I added 4 Tablespoons of butter and 1/2 cup of orange juice (I wanted more orange flavor- you could use milk instead.) That seemed to help the moist factor. I absolutely love the crumble topping and feel that it raises the muffin a notch.

I forgot to add that I made 18 muffins (not 12) and baked them for 25 minutes.

And I upped the blueberries to 1 2/3 cup.

Hi Joy! I think that any recipe, if made into mini versions, always ends up taking less time than the full version. The custard pie needs to be baked for about an hour, so I would begin checking at about 30-35 minutes in. The custard in the pies should be firm and not jiggle in the middle- that’s how you can tell it’s done. I hope that helps!

-Ruby =)

Very great read! Really..

If only I had a buck for every time I came to sweetmelissasundays.wordpress.com… Superb post!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
