Sweet Melissa Sundays

Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler Pie P&Q

Posted on: April 19, 2010

30 Responses to "Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler Pie P&Q"

I love a good cobbler. Im looking fwd to making this one. Im not sure I will use the rhubarb. I may add another fruit to go along with the Strawberrys. Im thinking blueberries and pears!

Tracey,

I’m not going to be able to join you this weekend baking,4/25.
I’ve got another fundraiser that I’m baking for.

Look forward to seeing your creation!

Carmen

I have no idea what a cobbler is. Can anyone enlighten me before I bake? 🙂

I’ve never bought a rhubarb. How do I know if I’m choosing a good one?

I’m with JoVonn. Never bought it before! I’ll just take a stab and hope it turns out well!

But I do like the idea of subbing…I’ve got some blueberries that need to be used up!

I guess I would describe it as a dessert with fruit filling and topped with dough.

I have never baked/cooked rhubarb before and am looking forward to this! Let’s hope I can find it in a grocery store.

My hubby made an impromtu stop at our local grocery store today on the way home and asked if I needed anything. I hesitantly told him what I needed. He gets freaked out about buying things he is unfamiliar with. I told him to look for the red celery in the produce section and if all else fails ask someone. I have never bought it before either, but know that it resembles celery. Hubby had no trouble finding it (apparently it’s rhubarb season). I’m not sure how to identify good rhubarb, but it looks ok to me. We’ll see how it turns out!

I bought some rhubarb from Berkeley bowl which is like the local organic food store. I bought some for like 1.50 which is a great price, but I have no idea if they’re good or not…or even how rhubarb tastes! so yeah…

I think I might be adding a cocoa topping instead of the biscuit topping.

Like fruit crumble but instead of crumble, scones on top. And in this case, in a pie crust!!

I wasn’t sure whether you overlap the scones or just have them adjacent to each other – thinking adjacent from some of the wording in the recipe… xx

Well, it seems I’m not the only one who has never had rhubarb before 🙂 I chose this recipe for exactly that reason! I did a bit of research and as far as buying the rhubarb everything I found said to choose firm, crisp stalks without blemishes or bruises. They’ll have a deep red color when they’re ripe – it definitely looks like red celery.

I made the pie last week and it was very tasty, but I had a few issues. I couldn’t get as many biscuits from my dough as Melissa instructed so don’t be surprised if that ends up being the case. I didn’t overlap them – just spaced them evenly around the topping. The baking was the trickiest part for me though. I took the pie out when the juices were bubbling and thick (about 1 hr and 10 min in), but it never set up properly as it cooled so I had a little bit of pie soup 🙂 So I guess I’d err on the side of cooking the pie a bit longer, if you’re on the fence about whether it’s done.

The filling was quite sweet, but I really enjoyed it and the biscuits were yummy. I wish I had time to make it again so I could cook it properly but this week is too busy. Hope you all enjoy the pie!!

Rosy – I didn’t overlap them. I just spaced them evenly around the topping.

God forbid i send MY husband to go find rhubarb. I sent my dad! He said how much is 2 cups? I said I dunno… just buy a bunch. Thank goodness, he knows what it looks like.

Thanks for the tips Tracey….this is really helpful. I always struggle to tell when a fruit pie is done. Planning on making this tomorrow night. Wish me luck!

I baked this for about an hour and 20. It was pretty good. All my friends loved it. We were done in like 20 minutes. I have some pretty insane friends.

I’m make a version of this. Have about 4 rhubarb recipes I’m combining to make a strw rhub tart. Also making the TWD burnt sugar ice cream to go with it. yay spring recipes!

Tracey,

I’m not sure I will be able to join you this week. I’ve got a comprehensive final on Monday, and I’m not sure that I’m going to have time to make the pie in between blocks of studying. I look forward to getting so see everyone’s results!

I’ve even got some rhubarb waiting for me in the freezer, so hopefully I can try it out after this dang test!

Scored some rhubarb from my mom’s garden today, can’t wait to bake this pie tomorrow, it sounds so delicious!

No worries Tessa 🙂 Good luck on your final!

No worries. Good luck with the fundraiser!

it was really easy to put together. I just kinda put the filling together and using a frozen pie crust. and stuck it in the oven. I went back to check on it at like the hour point, but it’s not too time demanding if you decide to do that!

I just put mine in the oven. I’m making minis and the biscuits are really small, so I’m pre-baking the crust/filling a bit before I add them since I’m worried they’ll burn. Hopefully it works out.

Sorry guys, Im not a fan of strawberries nor rhubarb. I missed last weeks bread, so I’m going to go back a week and bake sweet potato bread. Cant wait to see the pictures.

Sorry everyone, I planned to make this today and ended up going to a track meet my daughter ran in out of town. My plan was to make it when we got home. Well do you know we had to hurry and mow the front an back yards before this big rain storm got here. We managed to get it done. But…by the time I was thinking about baking I had to cook dinner and help my daughter with homework..Sorry Tracey…Im so bummed..I really really wanted to make this one. I will make it someday !!

I had a long day today and will be baking this tomorrow morning. I should have my post up sometime in the evening.

Unfortunately I need to miss this week for lack of time…which is annoying as I love rhubarb. Looking forward to seeing what all of you come up with on this recipe though!

Mine is in the oven right now. It smells pretty good! I used 3 cups of strawberries and only 1 cup of rhubarb, hope it turns out 🙂

Made it (sort of) but I can’t find who the host is for this week! I wanna link to her for the recipe!

I love rhubarb, but haven’t been able to find it yet this year in any of the grocery stores or farmer’s markets. Very odd. So I’ll be subbing cranberries because they’re sour like rhubarb. We’ll see how it goes!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
