Sweet Melissa Sundays

Sweet Potato Bread with Cinnamon-Rum-Orange Glaze P&Q

Posted on: April 12, 2010

14 Responses to "Sweet Potato Bread with Cinnamon-Rum-Orange Glaze P&Q"

Any suggestions for a sub for rum? I can’t buy it legally. I may get some from a friend to use as the glaze, but I’m not sure if I can get it in time.

Nina, I don’t use alcohol and usually sub fruit juice for it. In this case, however, I’m thinking Maple Syrup. Yum.

Hello! We can’t get canned sweet potato in the UK (that I’ve found). Does anyone know how to make an equivalent with fresh sweet potatoes?? I tried making pumpkin puree from scratch and it was a disaster!!! But maybe sweet potatoes are less variable in their water content? R x

Rosy~ I just researched it for you. All the sites say that fresh sweet potatoes can be substituted with canned ones. However, canned sweet potatoes are precooked, so if you’re using fresh ones, I guess you would want to steam/boil it to precook it first (or else it won’t be mashable).

We made Sweet Potato Biscuits for Tuesdays With Dorie a while back. I roasted a sweet potato at 400 degrees until it was soft and then smashed it up. It seemed to work fine. I plan to do the same thing this time.

I researched it. I think I may be using apple cider. YUM!

Anyone have ideas to sub for sweet potato? I’m thinking mangos? What do you you guys think?

Thank you so much for all the tips! Think I’m going to roast in the oven in their skins and then mash up the flesh. Now totally paranoid about having too much liquid in the batter after the pumpkin incident!

Nina – Mangoes are a great idea! I thought pumpkin or a butternut squash would be a good sub as well, and would pair well with the cinnamon/nutmeg/clove spice mixture.

This is going to sound like a crazy request but can someone please email me the recipe? I left my book at the office. THANKS! Please send it to sweetmelissasunday@Gmail.com

Perfect! Thanks so much.

Mine is in the oven right now and smells amazing! I subbed pumpkin for the sweet potato since I had a big can of it to use up in the pantry.

Loved this recipe! Quick and easy.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
