Sweet Melissa Sundays

Chocolate Malted Layer Cake P&Q

Posted on: April 5, 2010

28 Responses to "Chocolate Malted Layer Cake P&Q"

Nicloe, Im going to have to pass on this week. My family doesn’t like malt, and with everything else going on time is really tight. I look forward to reading the posts and seeing the pictures!

I made this almost a year ago for my husband’s birthday. The cake is really good (it’s the same recipe as a few others we’ve already made), and the frosting is very malty! I remember it being delicious, and I remember the frosting being a little runny, so it had to go in the fridge before going on the cake, and then the cake had to go in the fridge. But it was really good!

I made this a couple of weeks ago into cupcakes and it was incredible! I made 2/3 of the mix and it made a whole load of cupcakes – 12 large and 12 small! I did doubt the icing as I was making it as it seemed really odd (kind of oily) but once it was on the cakes, it was great and got rave reviews. Sweet, but then it’s malt and milk chocolate so that was predictable… What a shame I didn’t take pictures so I’ll have to make them again!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Trying to think..who can I give these to?! Im sure they taste incredible but I can’t have them sitting around my house.

I made this a few days ago for my sisters visit and liked it, but skipped the frosting as I thought the cake was very rich on its own.

I’m really excited to make this cake but not so excited about 1 1/3 cups of strong coffee. Any suggestions on a replacement? Would water work? Hot chocolate? Maybe that’s a stretch. Any ideas would be greatly apprecited!

What is it about the coffee?? If you’re not keen on the coffee taste then not to worry as it really doesn’t taste like coffee! If that makes sense… As Ina Garten always says, it just makes the chocolate taste more chocolatey. But I think hot water might work – the Pioneer Woman’s chocolate sheet cake uses hot water… Let us know what you decide! xx

I don’t own a coffee pot so coffee isn’t an option for me Gloria. I was thinking I might do hot water and maybe a little bit of instant espresso powder. I may make these today – if I do I’ll let you know how it goes!

Buttermilk? I won’t be using coffee either.. It makes me sick and it I can taste it no mater how little the amount . I like coffee one way..hot and in a coffee cup.

Coffee in anything but a cup makes me sick …

I don’t drink coffee, but I do like how it intensifies the chocolate flavor. So, my compromise is Pero. I wouldn’t drink the stuff if my life depended on it, but I have been using it in baked goods that call for coffee for a while now, and have had nothing but good results. It is just a powder that you mix with hot water. I think it is by the Ovaltine in the store.

Michelle–I’m pretty sure you could just use hot water. Or maybe you could try mixing some chocolate syrup with hot water, just so your cake isn’t lacking on flavor.

The recipe says to use either hot coffee or hot water. Iโ€™m not a coffee fan, so I usually end up using hot water + 1 tsp of instant espresso powder (by Medaglia dโ€™Oro). In the past, Iโ€™ve also used hot water + 1-2 tsp of cocoa powder to increase the chocolate flavor, and that worked too. And Iโ€™ve done a combination of both, meaning hot water + 1 tsp instant espresso powder + 1 tsp cocoa powder. So, thereโ€™s lots of options :o)

thanks for the tips on the coffee…I don’t like it either and was wondering how to subtitute. I can’t wait to try this!

Great tips! I think I will try hot water plus cocoa powder. I’ll you know how it turns out.

I’m making 1/3 of this recipe…maybe. I may just make the whole recipe into cupcakes and decorate with chocolate frosting and malted chocolate ball candy things. I have a lot of them so I’ll figure out what to do with those.

I made these last night as cupcakes. I made 1/2 recipe and it made 16 cupcakes. I am going to frost tonight. I stopped at the store for malted milk powder and at almost $4.00 a jar, I didn’t buy it. Any ideas of anything for a substitute? Otherwise, i will just make chocolate frosting. Kind of messes up the title of the recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

The flavor and texture of this cake is wonderful.

Julie, you could always use whatever frosting you make and sprinkle chopped Whoppers on top. That way the title of the recipe would still hold true ๐Ÿ™‚

What store did you find the malted milk powder? I went to 2 stores today and couldn’t find it. Dumb question…but is it the same as Ovaltine??

Thanks!

I coulid not find it either. Is there any substitution for it?

I found it on the aisle with hot cocoa mix. It’s Carnation.

I googled for a substitution and didn’t find much. It is not the same as Ovaltine but some people did talk about it as a substitution.

I ended up doing vanilla frosting with malted milk balls on top..

I actually thought the cake was really chocolaty so vanilla is a nice counter.

I used Horlicks (I dunno if you guys have it, it’s pretty much the same as Ovaltine) Then used Malteaser hot chocolate mix in the frosting. It was amazing, I made them into cupcakes and boy did they turn out great!

xox

It’s almost like Ovaltine…. Ovaltine is the “chocolate” version. The malted milk powder is known as “Horlicks” and can easily be found in Asian markets. HTH.

thanks, girls!! I will look for those things today at the store!!

For anyone who wants to make a fraction of the recipe, I made 1/3 this afternoon and it yielded 9 cupcakes. Baking time was 20 minutes. I substituted water for the coffee, along with 1/3 teaspoon of instant espresso powder (would have been 1 teaspoon if I hadn’t scaled back the recipe). I didn’t want to spend the money on malted milk powder but I happen to have Ovaltine on hand so I’ll try using that when I make the frosting.

Yeah! I found malted milk at my local grocery store (go figure!!) and it wasn’t too expensive. I am excited to bake this tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sorry all..Im going to pass on this one. I look fwd to seeing all the yummy cakes and cupcakes!

Just popped my cake in the oven, I decided to bake in a bundt pan, hope it turns out!

My photos are on my work laptop so i’ll be posting tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
