Sweet Melissa Sundays

Roasted Pecan Cake with Caramel Orange Marmalade and Burnt Orange Buttercream P&Q

Posted on: March 1, 2010

28 Responses to "Roasted Pecan Cake with Caramel Orange Marmalade and Burnt Orange Buttercream P&Q"

I think I’ll be using a different juice and probably not using orange marmalade. I hope to be making it tomorrow/Tuesday, if everything goes according to plan of course.

Oh! I’ll also be using walnuts because they were cheaper =]

I will be skipping this one! Looking forward to seeing everyone’s posts!

I’m going to make a mini version of this I think, maybe quarter the recipe. I have a bunch of other cakes to be making this week too- must go stock up on butter!

I halved the recipe and made a small 2-layer 7-inch cake. This is one of those recipes where there are a TON of dishes at the end. I used peach marmalade cause that’s what I had… I will frost it tonite.

I so want to make this but Im not sure..So many treats lately. Im going to wait and here how it tastes before I dive in. I know if I do make this I will cut the recipe in half.

I ate some of the cake…. if you like nuts, you’ll like this… havent tasted it all put together yet, but i’ll let you know!

The Roasted Pecan Cake with Caramel Orange Marmalade and Burnt Orange Buttercream involves using 15 egg whites.

What to do with 15 egg yolks? Make Creme Brulee.

IF MAKING THE FULL PECAN CAKE RECIPE:
Here is a recipe from Brown Eyed Baker that uses 12 yolks. You can at least use most of the leftover yolks from the Pecan Cake.
http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2010/02/11/creme-brulee/comment-page-1/#comment-17751

IF USING HALF THE PECAN CAKE RECIPE:
Alton Brown has a Creme Brulee recipe that uses 6 yolks.
http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/creme-brulee-recipe/index.html

I have had recipes where I literally would toss the egg yolks or whites (depending on the recipe). I decided to use one recipe with another so as not to waste.

Hope you find this useful Bakers!
Carmen

The whole 12 egg whites part is so off-putting, but I think I’ll just a couple of egg whites and some meringue powder. we’ll see how it goes!

Nina,

When I try recipes for the first time, I always follow the recipe as written. After the taste taste, I make my observations and I change it up as I wish.

That’s just me… 🙂

I was going to try it as is, but using even 6 egg whites is really hard for me to do. I have no use for 6 egg yolks. plus I have no food processor or blender. I dont have many of the appliances you guys have. I also don’t have the time or money to get them. Therefore – I make do. haha.

Me too..that’s a dozen stinkin eggs..holy cow!!

I’m so mad at myself! I just tossed 7 egg whites from the TWD recipe for this week! I was thinking of making an angel food cake with them (hadn’t read this recipe’s ingredients yet) but I forgot about the on the counter for a few hours and figured I’d just toss ’em 😦 If only I’d have been more prepared I would have used them in this cake, which sounds absolutely delicious BTW! Ugh.

Creme brulee sounds like a yummy thing to make with the extra egg yolks! I’m going to be making a half recipe of the cake and I think I will make some ice cream with the extra yolks.

Andrea..that is a bummer..I hate it when I do stuff like that! Oh well at least eggs aren’t expensive! Im still debating on this one..It has a ton of steps and Im not sure Im up for it..I know blah blah blah..right!!

I knew when I picked this one that it was a LOT of work (and yes, tons of dirty dishes.) For me, the cake was the best part, so if you need to cut corners to get this one made, I’d suggest making the cake and serving it with a dollop of whipped cream or even topping it with chocolate ganache. I suggest using something other than orange marmalade to fill it unless you’re a huge fan. I’m not and I found it overwhelmed the cake flavor. I would also double the orange juice in the frosting because when you reduce it, not much is left (I ended up with about 2 tablespoons, not enough for the flavor to come through).

Leslie,

Thanks for the constructive, useful comment. I already bought the ingredients, so will use the orange marmalade. What I will do, however, is not use much. The challenge in this recipe (at least for me) is the buttercream. Getting sugar to 240 degrees and then streaming it into the egg whites is NOT easy. It takes practice. So, the whip cream or ganache idea is brilliant. And I will use more OJ.
Have a great day!

I will be passing on this one due to my pecan allergy. Sorry Leslie.

Just some general thoughts/tips on this cake:
– You could quarter the recipe and make cupcakes.
– Or, use a quarter of the recipe to make two 6” cakes (don’t split the cakes in this case so you’ll end up with a 2-layer cake instead of a 4-layer cake).
– I’ve used meringue powder to make buttercream frosting without any problems, but I’ve never used meringue powder in cakes.
– If adding hot syrup to egg whites doesn’t appeal to you, I highly recommend Nick Malgieri’s method of making buttercream frosting. Combine egg whites and sugar in the bowl of your mixer, put it over a pan with simmering water, whisk frequently until the mixture reaches 160 degrees. Then whip it to stiff peaks and gradually add softened butter while beating.
– I imagine that Apricot Jam would work very well with this recipe too. It has a little tartness but not as much as orange marmalade so it wouldn’t overpower the cake.Egg whites freeze very well. I keep them in a Ziploc bag, write the number of egg whites on the bag and date it. It’s good for a year.

Hope that helps! Looking forward to seeing your creations 🙂

Hanaa, apricot jam would be delicious in this. And cupcakes would be adorable!

If anyone does go with ganache, it should be served immediately. The cake is basically a meringue and will soak up whatever it comes in contact with.

Hanaa,

Wonderful, useful information. Love it!

Im going to pass..Im stressing out just reading all the work involved with this cake. My family does not like orange either. Sorry but it’s not going to happen.

Okay, I made the whole thing, followed the recipe, the whole shebang. It was overwhelmingly sweet!! The orange marmelade filling was over the top sweet and you could not taste anything else. The cake by itself was GREAT. I loved the cake but would not make the filling again. Too much!! I agree with just the cake + whipped cream on top would be fabulous.

I added 1.5 more cups of powdered sugar to the frosting, it was just too buttery for my liking. Adding more sugar helped alot. My DH said it was amazing frosting after I added more PS!!

LOTS of work but i’m glad I did it!!

Oh and I added some orange zest to the buttercream frosting and that added more flavor!

My frosting did not set up. So the cupcakes have been made and I skipped the orange marmalade, just made the caramel with a bit of guava juice. I dont know if I’ll have time before this Sunday to make frosting, but I’ll try!

I’m going to attempt to scale this one WAY back and make cupcakes. I don’t like nuts so I’m skipping them entirely….we’ll see how it goes! I probably will skip the filling and just try the frosting.

Ok, here’s what I did – I scaled back and made 1/4 of the recipe and wound up with 7 cupcakes. I’d planned to leave the nuts out entirely but that was before I read the recipe and saw that they were used to make a flour. I still didn’t want to use them but was worried about just ignoring that aspect of the recipe entirely, so I added about 3 extra tablespoons of AP flour (for the 1/4 recipe) to compensate. I was totally estimating how much extra flour the nuts would yield but the cupcakes baked up ok surprisingly. I was skeptical because the batter was sort of a mess (I’ll detail Sunday). I tried one and it’s tasty!

i really really wish i could make this one, sounds so yummy! and i had plans to get really creative with it. but i joined in a local craft fair (cocoa village craft fair for any central floridians out there) this weekend to sell my aprons! (www.thesmartbaker.com) I’m sorry Leslie!

I loved how the cake itself turned out….the frosting didn’t turn out so well, it tasted way too buttery (even after I left out 1 stick of butter) and it was somewhat broken (maybe I overmixed or undermixed)….I made my orange juice and marmalade, which turned out a bit bitter, I think due to my oranges…..Overall a fun recipe to make, but my fault it didn’t turn out as good as it should have been!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
