Sweet Melissa Sundays

Red Velvet Cake P&Q

Posted on: February 1, 2010

18 Responses to "Red Velvet Cake P&Q"

Im thinking cupcakes. We have had so much cake the past two months. If I make cupcakes I can give some away! I like the sound of this recipe.

I might go cupcakes too. Or maybe use the heart shaped mini cake pan I have. 6 pretty little heart shaped red velvet cakes…how Valentine-y! πŸ™‚

I’m definitely making cupcakes, but I’m making cake balls too! This weekend is my family’s photoshoot/chinese new year dinner/valentines day super afternoon!

Also as a twist, I’m making it blue! I got blue gel paste over the weekend so blue since it probably won’t make a different to the taste!

I made these into cupcakes and they’re really good! No problems with the recipe, except that I thought I had more red food coloring than I actually did, so the the color is a little off.

Ooo, so excited to see all the cupcakes! Although the heart shaped cake pans sound adorable, especially with valentine’s day approaching. Looking forward to hosting and seeing everyone’s creations! xx

All I want is an afternoon to make this!!! ARggggg…. I have both cupcakes and a heart pan… what to do, what to do??

why, make both of course πŸ˜‰ make an extra half batch and make a few cuppies out of it πŸ™‚

There was a lot of batter, so you could probably do both. I got two dozen large cupcakes, then put the leftover batter in two 4.5-inch pans and got two large layers from that.

I have a market on Sunday so I’ll be turning this into cupcakes and flogging them there πŸ™‚ Fingers crossed it’s good πŸ˜€

xxx

I made cupcakes and they are good!! I’ve never had a red velvet cake with cinnamon in it before, but it was very pleasant. The cupcakes baked up moist and light and actually had a nice, domed top. Usually my from-scratch cupcakes are flat on top, but these were perfect! I halved the recipe and got 17 cupcakes, and baked them at 350 for 20-25 minutes. I’m anxious to see if everyone else liked them as much as I did!

Thanks for the tips Melissa! I am going to make cupcakes too but wasn’t sure how much to scale back the recipe. If you got 17 from 1/2 of the recipe it looks like I’m really going to have to scale it back a lot!

I’m thinking of making 1/3 of the recipe and make cupcakes as well. This will make the math easier since the recipe calls for 3 eggs. If half the recipe makes 17 cupcakes, I should get about 10 to 11 cupcakes with a 1/3 of the recipe.
I’m also planning on changing a few things. I read in “Rose’s Heavenly Cakes” that baking soda makes the red coloring more brown-ish and that baking powder doesn’t. Will play with that.

Interesting – Thanks for sharing about the Baking powder versus Baking Soda. I never knew that, but my “Red” Velvet cakes are always more “Brownish-Red” Velvet!

Stephanie (and others),
From what I learned in Rose’s book, I will be making the following changes (this is for the entire recipe):
– Use 3 tsp of baking powder (because baking soda is twice as potent as baking powder and the baking soda amount called for is 1.5 tsp).

– Omit the vinegar. The acidity in the buttermilk should be sufficient.

– Cross my fingers :o)

heads up for anyone who hasn’t made them yet: i made 1/3 of the recipe, subbed sour cream for the buttermilk, left out the vinegar, doubled the baking powder (on accident) added recommended food coloring…

it yielded 31 mini cuppies, tasted good (not GREAT but still pretty good) and were reddish-brown.

they certainly are pretty tho! moist too, so i skipped the frosting πŸ™‚

FINALLY had time to make these but my post might be late (tomorrow evening).

Hi guys,

I came down with a real bad cold yesterday so I haven’t gotten around to baking these yet but they’re on the menu for this week! I promise I’ll actually get around to posting them.

Sorry Rosy 😦

xox

I’ve been out of the game for a few weeks but I will be baking them this evening as part of my Super Bowl menu so my post may not get up until tomorrow.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
