Sweet Melissa Sundays

Lemon Walnut Sour Cream Pound Cake P&Q

Posted on: January 10, 2010

15 Responses to "Lemon Walnut Sour Cream Pound Cake P&Q"

I made this a couple of weeks ago. If you’re on the fence as to whether to make this or not, it’s delicious and comes together well!!

I made this a few weeks ago too. You can use an orange + pecans — that’s what I had on hand — and this was amazing!

I was just going to ask about pecans! Looking forward to making this one

Wondering about a sub for the shortening… I’ve read that 1 c + 2 tbsp butter = 1 c shortening. I know there’s already butter in the recipe, but has anyone tried this??

HornedFroggy,
Given that shortening is 100% and butter is 80% fat and 20% water (per my understanding from Shirley O’Corriher’s book “Bakewise”), you’d need to use 1 cup (8 oz) + 1 T butter for 1 cup of shortening. The only problem I see with this is that you’re adding about 2.5 Tbsp of water to the recipe by using butter. I don’t have the book in front of me but if there’s a liquid in the recipe, you might want to decrease it by that much. That’s my theory :o)

i’m glad i read this before i went shopping for the ingredients – pecans are a great sub! i’m in!

I’m gonna be sitting out of this one. My boyf hates nuts and I couldn’t possibly eat a whole cake myself!

I might do a rewind 🙂

I plan on just subbing it one for one since I do also have to sub sour cream for buttermilk and butter. We shall see how it tastes!

Just leave the nuts out! I’m thinking about making half with and half without since I’m bringing them on my flight back to school so it’ll be easier to do so.

This sounds delicious!

This IS Delicious! I just made it and it’s so good! I only baked it for 1 hour and 3 min.

oh this was good. so good. TOO GOOD!! I’m glad I gave 98% of it away. dangerrrr.

I made minis (got 5 loaves) and baked them for 35 minutes. Used clementine zest and juice and pecans. Really good!

For those who made the pound cake already, did you follow the recipe as-is? Using shortening, or did you make substitutions?

Also, has anyone baked these without nuts? Nina, I know you were thinking of doing half-with and half-without nuts.

I substituted shortening with butter fully and substituted sour cream for 1.5T of butter and the rest of buttermilk. It tastes fine.

I actually did some without nuts in the batter, but I did put nuts on top. I didnt end up putting syrup on some of them and the lemon flavor was definitely not there when I did that. But it’s just a cake when it doesnt have the nuts in it, but I did like the contrast of textures with the nuts in it.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
