Sweet Melissa Sundays

Chocolate Pie Crust P&Q

Posted on: January 4, 2010

Time to get really creative:  don’t forget, we’re using a filling OUTSIDE of the cookbook.

17 Responses to "Chocolate Pie Crust P&Q"

So many things I could put in this crust..what are you all thinking?!

Chcolate Creme Pie!

I am passing on this one, though I am sure I will regret it! 🙂 I am picking two recipes each month to do and this month I chose the Lemon Walnut Sour Cream Pound Cake (which is baking in my oven right now!) and the Black Bottom Brownies. Can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with!

I received some mini pie pans for Christmas and can’t wait to use them! There’s a macadamia caramel tart from the December issue of Bon Appetit I’ve been wanting to try so I might make that filling. Or something with coconut.

I’m making a peanut butter pie! No bake too. Easier haha.

I’m thinking of doing something with peanut butter too. It’s one of the few things my husband will eat and I don’t want to get stuck eating this all myself!

I was thinking of doing a mini pie and a healthier version of banana cream pie.

I made this last night and just wanted to say you may add some more sugar or flavoring of some kind..I followed the diretions exactly and the crust had no flavor..tasted bland. Thank goodness I had a sweet filling.

I’m sitting out this week, but I can’t wait to see what everyone makes!

I was thinking cherries. They are on sale AND isn’t cherries and chocolate like a pairing made in heaven? Well… for some people at least. Or else cordial cherries wouldn’t have been invented 😉

I might be sitting a few weeks out, which would be a bummer. My 4-year-old was just diagnosed with a peanut allergy this morning, and I’m trying to figure out where we go from here. At first I thought, “Oh, that’s no big deal. We can handle that.” But the more I think about it, the more overwhelming it seems. Anyway, I can’t wait to see what delicious combos people come up with for their pies! Good Luck!

Thanks for the head’s up. Maybe I’ll add some chopped chocolate or cocoa nibs to the dough. I’m thinking I’ll use all butter instead of shortening.

I made the crust last night and I must say, it came out uuuugly. maybe I just didn’t roll it our enough? But it was crackly and crumbly. I hope that it tastes better than it looks.

I hope it tastes better then mine did..no flavor whats so ever..My crust looked OK..no cracks or crumbles..but just not tasty..

I’ve also decided to only pick 2 SMS recipes a month. I recently joined a new baking group, the Heavenly Cake Bakers, where we bake our way though “Rose’s Heavenly Cakes”. This baking group too, requires baking a minimum of twice a month, so I’ll be picking 2 recipes a month for that group also to balance things out. Hence, I decide to sit out the chocolate pie crust. I will be back for either the Lemon Pound Cake, or the cheesecake brownies.

I just rolled mine out and it’s uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuugly, too! 😉

I’ll be posting my creation later tonight as I’ve been called to my mums for lunch at the last minute! Not that i’m complaining 🙂

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
