Sweet Melissa Sundays

Chocolate Espresso Cheesecake with Blackberry Glaze P&Q

Posted on: December 1, 2009

Thanks for baking along in 2009!

Come back mid-December for January’s recipes!

13 Responses to "Chocolate Espresso Cheesecake with Blackberry Glaze P&Q"

This sounds so yummy! I can’t wait to try it!

Im excited to make this. Don’t have any booze or Espresso(don’t like it), any other suggestions to use in place of them?

I missed last week so I’m definitely baking this week. I think I’ll probably substitute for the blackberries but not sure what I’ll use yet.

Michelle – I think you could just leave the espresso out without any problems. As for the rum, I’m really not sure. Maybe some sort of juice (apple?)

I just left out the rum, it didnt seem to make a difference. =]

I am not that big on cheesecake, but I’m going to make it for other people. I only have an 9-inch springform pan, not an 8-inch like the recipe specifies. Do you think I should try to scale the recipe up slightly?

Thinking of using my homemade grape jelly for the glaze. Now I have to note that my jelly is thicker than store bought so I think it’ll work OK. I’ve used grape jelly in a frosting for choc cupcakes before and the flavors went really well together.

As for the booze. I will substitute it with cream and use a total of 1 cup of cream.

@Margot: unless want a fairly thin cheesecake, I’d up the recipe. My calculations show that you’d have to use 1 1/3 of the recipe. I just looked at the recipe and that might be a bit difficult given there’s only 2 eggs. If I had to guess, I’d say you could do 1.5 times the recipe. Your other option is to bake them in a 8″ square pan. They’d be thin/flat but you could call them “cheesecake bars”. In the latter case, I’d up the crust as a 8″ square pan has more surface area than a 8″ round pan.

Same problem here Margot. I might scale the recipe back and make it in my 4-inch springforms instead.

I feel like I’ve been such a SMS delinquent lately- but I will definitely be making this recipe!

Thanks for the calculations, Hanaa. I don’t want a skinny cheese cake, so I’ll probably do 1.5 times and maybe make a mini if there’s extra.

Thanks Hanaa for the cream idea. I will try it too!

I’m so disappointed! I’ve been a complete delinquent, as you say, Spike, so I was intent on making this a triumphant comeback.. but something has gone horribly wrong and I’ve ended up with a massive crater of a cheesecake! I probably did something wrong that I’m just not aware of (maybe overbeating after adding the eggs..?)… Or, alternatively, my oven MAY have been the culprit (there’s reason to suspect this, but it’s always been dependable up to now), so just wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience..?

Here’s a really good article on baking cheesecakes: http://www.baking911.com/cakes/cheesecake_problems.htm.

Sinking is usually attributed to overbaking of the cheesecake. This confirms my suspicion when I read the recipe the other day. That’s a very long baking period. I’m planning on using a method from Rose Levy Beranbaum’s new book, Rose’s Heavenly Cakes. Last week I baked her Pumpkin Cheesecake last week which was fabulous.

First, make sure you wrap the spring form pan with 2 sheets of HEAVY duty alu foil. Then bake the cake in a waterbath at 350 for 45 minutes. Turn off the oven, keep the oven door closed and leave the pan in the waterbath for 1 hour.

While comparing Melissa’s and Rose’s cheesecake recipes, I noticed that the ingredient proportions wwere fairly similar. With that said, knowing that Rose’s cheesecake turned out great, I will be adding 1 egg yolk to Melissa’s recipe.

Hope all this helps.

I’m baking my mini cheesecakes right now. I have a full schedule tomorrow so I will try to get my post in before midnight!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
