Sweet Melissa Sundays

Raised Waffles with Warm Brown Sugar Bananas P&Q

Posted on: November 16, 2009

17 Responses to "Raised Waffles with Warm Brown Sugar Bananas P&Q"

I am excited about this one. I will make them Sat. morning for breakfast. The warm brown sugar banana topping sounds so good. Has anyone tried this recipe yet?

I think Wendy from PinkStripes made them already and said they were pretty good. Not sure if she’s checking these P&Q’s but maybe she can weigh in if she does.

I’ve just bought a waffle iron. I do hope it arrives in time!

Yes! The waffles are good. The banana topping even better. I really liked it. Nothing difficult or tricky about the recipe.

I liked the banana topping much more than the waffles. I thought the waffles were a lil on the bland side but that’s cause i did something wrong… i’m not sure if this affected the recipe in anyway but i added the eggs into the batter at the same nite. I’m going to try this again on Fri nite for Sat. breakfast to see if it tastes any different.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a waffle maker, so I might sit this one out. Unless pancakes are possible, then I might try it. Might be a game day decision!

no waffle maker here. poo. i was looking forward to making these. 😦

maybe i can borrow my mom’s!!

well until i apparently found a waffle maker at my place, i wasnt going to make them, but i think you can use a waffle recipe to make pancakes =]

I never use my waffle maker, so I’m glad a baking group recipe is getting me to dust it off! These sound yummy.

I dint have a waffle maker either, but pancakes are a good idea. You all keep talking the sauce up so I want to try that. I bet it would be good on french toast too.

I made the waffles this morning and thought they were delicious! I substituted apples for bananas and wasn’t a huge fan of the topping. It wasn’t awful, but I probably wouldn’t make it again.

My waffle iron came, but I wasn’t home so it’s at the sorting office! I can’t pick it up till Monday so I’m gonna be posting this one late 😦

So I was reading over the recipe and it calls for rum. unfortunately I am underage, anyone know of good subs for rum?

The 2nd time I made this, I omitted the rum. Was still good!

After teaching at work today I did manage to post my waffle baking. I thought these were fantastic. Very crisp.

I forgot to log out so here’s another comment so you can link to me!
Its a great recipe. Did anyone try to save extra batter? I didn’t think it would hold very well and just threw it out.
Nina,
I would substitute a little orange juice, a bit of orange peel and a touch of vanilla for the rum.
Patty

i made these but what resulted was NOT a waffle mix. it was uber runny and smelled horrible!! maybe i should have let it sit in the fridge rather than my kitchen counter…? i’ll tackle this again one day.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
