Sweet Melissa Sundays

Butter Toffee Crunch P&Q

Posted on: November 9, 2009

16 Responses to "Butter Toffee Crunch P&Q"

I’d like to scale this recipe back and I was hoping to get a sense of how much toffee the full recipe makes. Has anyone finished this one yet?

I scaled this down to 1/4 of the recipe. I didnt make it yet, but according to my calculations, it will yield approx. 3/4 lb.

i scaled it down by 1/2 and i got about 3/4 of a regular cookie sheet’s worth.

make sure to cook this to proper temperature. if you don’t, it won’t set right.

like mine. 😦

Yeah, I plan on scaling it down as well.

Thanks Karen! I saw that Melissa said the yield of a full recipe was 3 lb but I had no sense of just how much toffee that was. I think I’ll probably do 1/4 too.

Bummer it didn’t work out for you Jeannette! Thanks for the help on the yield. Sounds like 1/4 recipe will be perfect.

You really get like 30 seconds between undercooked and burned with candy, at least that’s my experience. I will make sure to watch the thermometer very carefully.

Since I’m leaving for San Diego this weekend for a masquerade ball and I still have homework to do, I’ll be on a boat, dancing most of Saturday night.

Most of all, I dont have a candy thermometer. that doesnt help in the whole process. =[

For anyone without a candy thermometer, my mom has an old recipe for toffee where you cook the mixture until it is the exact color of a brown paper bag, then pull it from the heat. You actually keep a brown paper bag next to you on the counter! I didn’t try it this way, but maybe that would work. I did it the REAL way using my oh-so-expensive candy thermometer from King Arthur, and the stupid thing goofed up and the whole batch burned! And yes, I made a whole batch! Pooh!

Tracey- I think this recipe will probably make a lot. To give you an idea, the tin of peppermint bark at Williams Sonoma is one pound.

Thank you! I couldn’t get a sense for how much 3 lbs was -if the WS tin is 1 lb I’m going to need to scale this recipe WAY back. I’m not sure anyone will eat it. Maybe I’ll try 1/8.

Sorry Melissa for your troubles with burning the entire batch, that really stinks. I would have flipped out!
Im so going to scale this one back. Im sure we can’t eat 3 pounds of candy without blowing up!

I just finished making this — took 20 minutes! As I said before I scaled it down to 1/4 of the recipe. I couldnt find my rimmed cookie sheet and i dont have a jelly roll pan (*gasp*) — what i do have a lot of are 7″ round aluminum disposaable cake pans and i dumped it all in there. I now have a nice 7″ round hunk of candy cooling on the counter — and it feels like its 1lb!

I cut the recipe in half and it turned out ok. I was so worried about scorching the candy Im pretty sure I took it off the burner too soon. Mine definitely does not have a crunch, it’s soft like caramel. The kids love it though.
One suggestion I have is when you put the blanched almonds on top you may want to slightly press them down into the chocolate. They didn’t stick to well for me.

I just made this. I cut the receipe in half as well. You have to watch it closely. Mine came up to temperature a lot faster than I expected. The recipe went together really fast. Can’t wait to try it later today.

I feel really guilty. I had the intention of making this (I have always wanted to make toffee) and somehow got side-tracked and made cashew brittle from The Craft of Baking, instead. I’m sorry for not baking along with the group, but I was with you, in spirit. Would you recommend this recipe?

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
