Sweet Melissa Sundays

Devils Food Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting P&Q

Posted on: October 19, 2009

23 Responses to "Devils Food Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting P&Q"

Im droolling all ready!

that is drooling!

It’s super good! Made it this weekend. =]

I haven’t made the frosting, but I made the cake as cupcakes. If you use the version from the Brooklyn Brownout Cake recipe (scaled down to make two 7″ cakes instead of two 9″ cakes), you’ll get about 24 cupcakes. And they’re better on day 2. Just in case anyone wanted to know that! 🙂

I made this too — using the full recipe i got a 3 layer 7″ cake and 6 cupcakes — and it was YUMMY. The cupcakes are all gone – the cake is resting in the fridge.

A note on the frosting: I thought there was TOO much butter in Melissa’s frosting recipe — isnt 1.5 lbs of butter equal to SIX STICKS? So I used 2 sticks of butter, 3-4 cups of powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and increased the peanut butter to 1 cup — HEAVENLY!!!

6 sticks? Thats about 700g isn’t it?! Bloody hell!

I think i’ll use your version Karen 🙂

i think i’ll skip the frosting. or make a miniscule amount. just enough to top a few cupcakes.

I love Karen’s change to the frosting recipe. 6 sticks of butter sounds to close to a buttercream frosting and I have not learned to like this kind of frosting yet. Chocolate and peanut butter sound delicious!

Has anyone reduced the amount of coffee and subbed in some water? I remember the Brownout cake having a very strong coffee flavor, which I enjoy, but I am planning on making cupcakes and sending most of them out of the house.

Karen, thanks for the frosting recipe. I like the idea of more peanut butter and less butter!

Holy cow- six sticks of butter! That’s a heart attack waiting to happen. I think I’ll try Karen’s version as well.

Margot–I’m not a coffee drinker, but I didn’t want to use water because it called for so much and I didn’t want to change the flavor too drastically. So, I bought Pero and used that! I think it was by the Nestle’s Quik and hot cocoa powder at the grocery store. The directions they give you on the package aren’t very good, so I just did 1 teaspoon of powder per cup of really hot water. The cupcakes tasted good and chocolatey without tasting like coffee. Good Luck!

Hi all! I will be sitting out this week. Just got in from a business trip and headed out in a couple of days for my alma mater’s homecoming. I can’t wait to see your creations!

Unfortunately I won’t be able to bake along this week either (again? Yes again!). As some of you know, I’m in the middle of a kitchen remodeling project (basically getting a totally brand new kitchen). My countertop installation was originally scheduled for this Friday but got rescheduled for next week Tuesday. Which means, I won’t be able to bake this weekend just yet.

I watched Melissa’s podcast making the devils’ food cake into cupcakes w/PB frosting, and they looked really good (even though I can’t eat the PB frosting due to allergies). This reminded me of a cupcake I created and entered into a competition last year. I called them “PB & J Chocolate Cupcakes”. I used homemade grape jelly and squeezed some inside each cupcake. And then decorated the top of each cupcake with PB frosting and more jelly. I’ll try to post a picture of that on my blog this Sunday.

Thanks Karen for the change to the frosting. I kept reading the recipe and thinking 1 1/2 pounds butter, seriously?

Can you taste the coffee in the cake? Making for dinner with friends Saturday night and he is NOT a coffee drinker.’

Thanks.

They sound wonderful! We remodeled our kitchen two years ago and it was painful not being able to cook for a month! Cooking on plywood countertops just doesn’t cut it 🙂

Thanks Karin. I’m glad you understand 🙂 It’s just not the same, besides, I’m not comfortable putting my KA mixers on those wobbly pieces of plywood. Once the countertop is installed, I consider the kitchen functional. The backsplash and flooring will come later and that’s fine.

I don’t plan on using coffee. Do you think it would be OK to substitute the same amount of water?

I did not use the coffee and forgot to replace it ..crazy ugly cake but it’s tastes out of this world!

I baked this tonight in 7″ round pans and had enough for 6 cupcakes. I don’t taste the coffee at all.

The flavor is awesome.

The frosting as-is is unbelievable!

Sorry crew,

I’m going to have to sit this one out. Between job hunting, school, preparing to move and entertaining family this Sunday for a Spanish dinner, I don’t have time to bake this cake. I’ll take the time to read all of your reviews on this recipe though.

I hope that everyone has a wondeful week.

Horrors!! I wasn’t able to bake this weekend. I taught a techniques cooking class this Sunday and just could not find time to bake. So, congrats to all you dedicated bakers! I wish I could taste these fantastic chocolate & peanut butter creations!
Cheers, Patty
http://birdingbaker.wordpress.com/
By the way I can’t sign in on blogger accounts with my wordpress address. Does anyone have advice about this?

I have been out of town but am hoping to catch up later this week. Thanks for your ideas!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
