Sweet Melissa Sundays

Sticky Buns with Toasted Almonds P&Q

Posted on: October 4, 2009

25 Responses to "Sticky Buns with Toasted Almonds P&Q"

I am afraid I will have to miss this week and next week. I will be in Germany. Happy to be going to Germany. Sad to miss out on a recipe I had tagged to try.

I made these last night/this morning. They are so amazingly delicious, but all of the times were totally off for me. Both rises took waaaayyyy longer than expected, but they baked in only 25 minutes! And I made the cinnamon bun version because I had cream cheese frosting in the fridge that needed to be used. If you’re willing to put in the time, these are worth it!

I made these too! My first rise took overnight! Mine baked for 45 minutes… some are huge and some are bitesize. I made the sticky sauce AND the cream cheese frosting!

After eight happy years together, my Kitchen Aid is having some problems and needs to be repaired, which I don’t think will happen by the weekend since I still need to find a place to (hopefully) fix it. I’ve never made bread dough in my food processor; does anyone recommend doing it that way? I may just have to knead the old-fashioned way.

Margot, you can do it by hand, or spend < $10 and go to your local thrift store and see if they have a used bread machine. This comes with a "dough cycle" which will knead the dough for you and do the first rise for you (this takes 90 minutes). Just a thought… The only negative: storage space.

I’ve never made any kinds of bread before. This should be fun. We’ll see how they turn out!

Hi Margot,
I work for Williams Sonoma and I know that KitchenAid has great customer service. Try calling: 800 541 6390. Sometimes it’s just tightening a few screws. I hope the repair is that simple for you. But whatever the problem the customer service folks should be able to help. Good luck!
Patty

Thanks, Patty! I called and they were very helpful. One of the issues can be solved by tightening a screw. The other problem was that some oil had leaked where you fasten the attachments; the representative suggested running the mixer on high for 2 minutes and it doesn’t seem to be leaking (she also assured me the oil is food-based). If it leaks again, I will take it to be repaired; the representative also gave me the address and number of where I can take it.

Hanaa, thanks for your suggestion, too! I need to choose my kitchen acquisitions carefully due to storage space.

Sorry I will not be able to participate this week. My mother in law passed away and we are going back east to attend her funeral.

does anyone have advice on making these by hand?
I have no KA mixer. and I’m still debating whether or not to make these. This might be the first on I’ve skipped!

Nina-
I made mine with my Kitchen Aid, but I’m pretty sure you can do it without a fancy stand mixer. For step one (under “to make the dough {first rise}), just use a regular old hand mixer to mix everything. Then I would add the rest of the stuff like they tell you to do in step two, mix that with your hand mixer too, and stop mixing once everything is combined. Then turn it out onto a floured surface and knead it by hand for 10-15 minutes. That sounds like a pain, but people made bread before stand mixers, so it can’t be that bad, right?! Good Luck!!

Nina, I made this dough tonight and loved it. First, there is not a huge amount of dough and second, kneading by hand is not hard to do. You will need a space you can throw some flour down on to knead but just use the heel of your one hand to push down and your other hand to spin the dough a quarter to half turn to knead again. Your dough should whip into shape in about 6 to 8 minutes in this manner. Just a thought =)

I made these tonight with the sticky sauce and I would like to bake them tomorrow morning (if I can get out of bed eary enough). I am hoping I didn’t ruin them because I did not have an orange so I used a lemon for the peel…hoping they will still taste great.

Nina, I have a Kitchenaid but am planning on making these by hand. I did a bread making course at River Cottage and feel I should really be using my new skills 😀

Just look up some kneading techniques and how to tell if you’re gluten has developed properly. (like the window technique)

Katie xox

I’m very sorry to hear that. My thoughts are with you and your family.

I haven’t made anything with yeast since I was in middle school and it didn’t turn out well. Hopefully this one will. Lol

Sorry I won’t be able to bake along this week either. I’m smack in the middle of a kitchen redo project. Very very exciting, but I do miss baking!! Hopefully I’m back in the game in a week or two.

Just wanted to second what Melissa noted about the bake time- DEFINITELY check your buns before 45 minutes… mine were done in a little over 25 too. My other sticky bun recipe gives another way to be sure- the internal temperature should reach 180 degrees, so just pull out the instant read thermometer if you want to be extra safe! But I’d say a more accurate bake time for this recipe would be 25-30 minutes… hope that helps! 🙂 Can’t wait to see everyone’s yummy sticky buns, and catch up through each other’s comment sections- I’ve missed you all and I’m glad to be back this week!

<3,
Joy

Hi guys! I remember with the bee stings that people had trouble with the dough not rising–because the yeast was mixed in without any warm liquid, etc. Was that at all an issue with the sticky buns? Did anyone active the yeast before mixing it into the dough? Thanks!

My dough was SO sticky, had to add about 1 cup of flour to even handle it.

Ditto, my dough was very sticky but I did add more flour. Probably the total amount of flour was 2 3/4 cups. I used the proofing cycle in my Bosh oven and the dough did rise very nicely. Now, the rolls are formed and I’m letting them sit out for an hour before I chill them. I think a little rise will be good. Tomorrow should show the results.
Thanks everyone for all the advice. It helps!
Patty

Hi Elyse! I had a TON of trouble with the bee stings, but so far have found this dough much easier to work with. Mine is on the first rise right now and is actually rising. The bee sting dough never really rose properly so I’m feeling optimistic. I used instant yeast instead of active, so I can’t help with that question. I did think it was a bit odd the yeast wasn’t proofed though. Good luck!

Thanks, Tracey! I actually just put mine into the fridge so they can rest overnight. I didn’t have too much trouble with the dough. I warmed my milk to 110 degrees F before making the paste–just to help the yeast along a bit. My dough took the full 15 minutes to form a ball, and while it was quite sticky, I didn’t have to add too much flour to make it manageable. After 2 hours, my dough had more than doubled–I had placed it in the oven (which had been pre-warmed) to rise. Can’t wait to eat these in the morning!

Mine are baking right now! They smell amazing, can’t wait to try them 🙂

I did not use the zest (didn’t have any) so we’ll see how it turns out. No problems getting the dough to rise, though I did have to use a little more than the extra 1/2 cup of flour to make the dough not so sticky. definitely check your buns early, mine were done at about 25-30 minutes as well. these are cooling right now… I can’t wait to try one!

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
