Sweet Melissa Sundays

Perfect Pound Cake P&Q

Posted on: September 7, 2009

23 Responses to "Perfect Pound Cake P&Q"

Sorry to make the first post of the week completely off topic…
My mom is trying to go the no-refined-sugars-route. I remember somebody using agave syrup in past posts but can’t figure out who it is now. Anyone, anyone?? And I can’t wait for the pound cake. Yum!!

That’s probably me, I bake with a lot of refined sugar substitutes including agave. Feel free to email with any questions blueridgebaker@gmail.com

Hello bakers!

I hope that you all have been having a wonderful summer thus far. As some of you may have noticed, I haven’t been posting for SMS in several weeks. I’m so sorry….it’s just been too hot to bake. The average daily temp. where I live is 104 degrees. I have made some of recipes like the truffles (OMG!) those were good, and a couple more recipes.

I’m on vaccation at the moment, in Spain. I will catch up with you all and get back to baking when I return later this month. Sunday, September 27 to be exact.

Enjoy your holiday weekend & I’ll see you all soon!

Raeann

How is everyone topping their pound cakes? I’m trying to figure out a cute way to do these so that I can have lots of friends eat them without it being too hard to eat.

Hi,

I think I am going to make the regular pound cake, and then toast individual slices and have some sort of topping. Maybe ice cream, or sauteed apples, or Nutella, or something.

My family and I love pound cake! Im looking fwd to baking this one!

I was trying to figure out the same thing. I’m thinking some sort of glaze but I don’t know what kind.

I just made mine for a baby shower this past evening. I just served it plain with fresh strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries. I’d love to be able to tell everyone that it was well-received…but my husband had to work late and I had to send the dessert with a friend!! I think a simple glaze would be good. AND if you get the notion to test your cake’s doneness with a skewer or something, don’t poke the skewer straight through the lovely, gooey crack on the top. The entire skewer was covered in batter, so I thought my loaves weren’t done, but I’m pretty sure I overbaked them as a result. Just poke the dang skewer in off-center!

Melissa- when I was going through a yoga program, my teacher recommended a book called Lick the Sugar Habit (http://www.amazon.com/Lick-Sugar-Habit-Nancy-Appleton/dp/089529768X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1252523118&sr=8-1). Your mom may find it kind of interesting, but don’t read it or we may lose you from the group 😦

I’m so excited to make this! I’ve never had pound cake before and have always wondered about it! Eeeep!

Thinking of baking this in 3 mini-loaf pans and making one plain, one choc/espresso marbled and one lime poppy seed.

Ooh, sounds delicious Hanaa!

Poppy seed is a great idea!

Yummy sounding flavor ideas, can’t wait to make mine tomorrow!

I am going to make mine plain, then use it to dip in chocolate fondue! It is my daughter’s request-I can’t deny her chocolate, lol!

I’ll type up the whole recipe and Melissa’a notes in my post tonight, so you won’t need to (unless you want to, of course!).

Sorry, everyone i have to sit this one out. Some unexpected things came up.

I made minis and they were a hit with the kids 🙂

Just posted about my experience this week! 🙂

I still haven’t received my cookbook. 😦 Any chance of someone emailing me the recipe so I can bake tonight? Thanks!

Susan–
Michelle just posted the recipe on her blog, so you can just go there to find it. She included all of the notes from the cookbook too. Let me know if you need this week’s recipe for orange scented scones; I’d be happy to email it to you!
mohoha@hotmail.com

Going to have to skip this first week. I promise to be better in the coming weeks. Didn’t get back to my computer till late this evening and just don’t have time to get this done. Sorry gang. 😦

Hi,
I’m new and trying to figure out links, embedding, etc.
Anyways here’s my first post related to SMS, I hope you will read it and comment!
Thanks for including me! Patty

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
