Sweet Melissa Sundays

Fallen Chocolate Souffle Cake P&Q

Posted on: August 31, 2009

23 Responses to "Fallen Chocolate Souffle Cake P&Q"

I made this for a work potluck last week, and I was surprised at how easy it is to make this cake. I did wish (for the 100th time) that I had a 2nd bowl for the Kitchen Aid. I made it exactly as written, and I think it turned out quite well. It was so popular that I didn’t get a chance to taste it, but it looked VERY moist and chocolaty.

So what’s the definition of “best quality” chocolate?

@ Jovann-maybe it means the best quality you can find or a chocolate with a high cocoa solid content?

I’m just going to use nestle. haha. but i think she means that the best quality you can get. but that’s the best i’m going to get.

I know the TWD recipe for next week is a chocolate souffle – I hadn’t checked the September recipes yet when I made my choice – so sorry for the souffle overload. I made this the other day, though, and I whipped it up in less than 20 minutes while wrangling two boys under the age of three. It looks very involved, but it’s really pretty simple. And fun!!!

I made a quarter recipe a few days ago in 2 4″ springforms. It was delicious, but the texture left something to be desired. I think it is supposed to have a bit of a crust, but with a mini version, it isn’t in the oven long enough to develop one – my minis took 18 minutes – so it was pretty much the same texture all the way through. I don’t recommend minis for this recipe. I’ll be making it full-sized for next Sunday.

i made this friday night as my mom’s birthday cake and it turned out beautifully. i’m not too sure what the texture was supposed to be like but it fell in the center and was rich so i didn’t complain. neither did the birthday girl.

i used ghirardelli 58% premium chocolate. i left out the orange zest because i couldn’t crunch in another store trip but i think next time i’ll add it in there. the cake needed something extra. oh and DON’T overmix. 🙂

Im going to be at a retreat in the mountains this weekend and sInce were making a Souffle with TWD Im going to pass on this one. Im sorry Sarah but I won’t have the time to get to it this week. I hope I can make TWD Souffle.

Thanks for the clarification. I bought Ghiradelli.

How long does this one last? Could I make Thursday night and bring to a party on friday? Thanks for the advice…

Spike – I think it would be okay. Melissa says to keep it in the pan for storage, though, as it is rather delicate.

I think I’m gonna make this for my lil bros birthday on Friday! 😀 Looks delish!

i made mine today! well it’s in the oven righttttt now. i’m having a couple friends come over and taste them for me! i’m topping mine with blackberries, strawberries, and kiwi. =]

I will be making mine on Friday. I think that’s the only time I have this weekend! I still haven’t decided what to put in the fallen center.

I’m glad I didn’t get around to baking this on Sunday as planned (I didn’t have either oranges or Grand Marnier, nor suitable substitutes), since my intention was to make minis. I will make a full-size one this weekend.

i made minis and they turned out fine! i baked them for 25 minutes. i had a crispy crust with a souffle center. i am SO glad i did the minis… this is a super rich dessert!! great flavor!

Lauren, how mini are your minis… i have a 5″ springform and i was going to make half the recipe. Was wondering about the baking time.

hmm, well mine only took 20. It looked done, and the toothpick came out empty. I had used 4 ramekins and I used 1/4 of the recipe.

I’m baking mine now. It smells like eggs-I don’t love that….

Just took mine out of the oven, my tester came out clean at 42 minutes…

Karen, the first time I made these I did 1/4 recipe in 2 4″ springforms and baked them for 18 minutes.

I baked mine tonight as well and it took 55 minutes. I may have been able to take it out sooner as a crumb I tasted was a tad burnt. I won’t be cutting into until tomorrow when I’m at my parent’s house.

I mad a 1/4 of a recipe. It quarters easily and I baked it in my mom’s mini-corning ware pan. It rose and baked beautiful.

I halved the recipe and baked it in a jumbo muffin tin for mini soufflé cakes, I was really surprised by how they baked up but the kids loved them 🙂

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
