Sweet Melissa Sundays

Welcome New Members & Giveaway

Posted on: July 28, 2009

Hey everyone.  We’ve had some changes in our membership.  We’ve had a few people drop out and few people join us.  I wanted to take a moment to introduce you to our newest members.  Some have been along for the ride for a few weeks now, so not terribly new, but newer.   You’ll notice that I plugged our new members into the places of the people they replaced as opossed to reordering the whole baking page.  I hope that is OK with everyone, not exactly first come first served, but I didn’t want to mess people up with constantly changing their host dates and thought this was a good way to get new members involved and on the map right away.  If you don’t agree with this you can let me know and I can try to swap dates around.  Hopefully everyone will be cool with it.

So here are our newish members, please stop by and say hi.

  1. Joy of Hot Oven, Warm Heart
  2. June of Sweet TheraPie
  3. JoVonn of The Givens Chronicles 
  4. Candace of Candy Girl
  5. Stephanie of My Teacher’s Treats
  6. Nicole of Sweet Tooth
  7. Cynthia of Bakingtherapist’s Blog

And, to say welcome to our new members and to thank the veteran members, I am doing another giveaway.  Five (5) members will win 12 customized baking stickers from Littlebeane Boutique.   To enter, just leave a comment here identifying the baking cookbook that is #1 on your wish list right now or your #1 favorite must have baking book (hard to do I know).  Contest will end at 11:59 p.m. this Sunday, August 2, 2009. 

Cheers!

30 Responses to "Welcome New Members & Giveaway"

Oooh, fun! Welcome to all the new members! 🙂

The #1 book on my list right now is ‘Baking with Julia’… I found it at Half-Price Books a while ago but I didn’t grab it because it was in horrible shape and NOT 1/2 price off the cover. Of course, now that I’ve gone back, it’s not there! Someday soon, though!

I’ve been on a bit of a baking book shopping spree lately – recent acquisitions include: Pure Dessert, Baking with Julia, Tartine, Baked, Pastries from the La Brea Bakery, the list goes on… To say I’m obsessed is a gross understatement 🙂

There are still certainly plenty on my wish-list, believe it or not. I guess I’d have to go with Bittersweet: Recipes and Tales from a Life in Chocolate if I had to go with just one.

Jessica – you should check Amazon for Baking with Julia – I got a used copy in like new condition for $7 and change plus shipping…

Welcome to our new members!

I am horrible when it comes to buying new cookbooks. Once I see one I want, I end up buying it relatively quickly. Hmmm… what’s next on my list? Desserts by the Yard. 🙂

Welcome new members, I’m glad you’re joining the fun!

Oh, this is hard, there are always so many books on my wish list! Pure Dessert was at the top, but I found it half-off at Williams-Sonoma last weekend. I think now it’s Sky High.

Ooooh, welcome to the new members. I’m following you all so I never miss a sweet melissa post. I’d love it if any of you could return the favour ;P (whoring, I know I know)

The top of my wish list right now is Red Velvet and Chocolate Heartache: The ultimate feel-good book of natural cakes that taste naughty. I look at it every day! I must own this book!!

Thanks for all the welcomes!

I have been put on cookbook restriction because I have so many (lol). I would like to have Baking withJulia The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion. I will look into the ones that have been mentiond as well.

After we made the cherry pie with the pistachio crumble, I decided I wanted to get even better at making pie. So I think the book that is #1 on my wishlist is, “The Pie and Pastry Bible” by Rose Levy Beranbaum. I almost got it on Ebay for a really cheap price, but someone outbid me. Drats!

pizza on the grill. i have this URGE to fiiiinally grill a pizza on our grill. but i;m so afraid of ending up with a charred mess that i need a book to coax me through it. eep!

Welcome to the newbies & hello to the veterans!

My #1 wish list book is Sky High: Irresistible Triple-Layer Cakes
by Alisa Huntsman.

Welcome new SMS Bakers!!!!!

The top of my wishlist is the Baked cookbook (new frontiers in baking I believe it’s called) and all the David Lebovitz books!! But the small amount of self-control I have hasn’t allowed me to buy them yet. 🙂

Welcome to the newest of our baking friends!
I am Irish and have always had the urge to learn more about the food served in Ireland.The top of my wishlist is the following…..
Margaret Johnson reveals the delicious results of Ireland’s food revolution in The New Irish Table (Chronicle Books). Johnson’s love of Ireland permeates page after glorious page of mouthwatering Irish dishes in her new book. With 70 recipes collected from home and professional chefs throughout the Emerald Isle, The New Irish Table reflects the traditions of the national cuisine and also showcases the most exciting new tastes of the culinary renaissance in Ireland today.

Old World ingredients—farmhouse cheeses; beef, lamb, fish, and pork; wild fruits and berries—are interpreted anew in such dishes as Baked Rock Oysters with Bacon, Cabbage and Guinness Sabayon; Black Pudding-Stuffed Breast of Pheasant with Mustard Cream Sauce; Lamb Cutlets with Honey, Apricot and Tarragon Sauce; Boilie-Stuffed Chicken Breasts with Red Pepper Cream Sauce; and Smoked Salmon Chowder.

Welcome new members as well! I know that I follow everyone and try to comment on everyone’s blog too! It’s really comforting to see lots of comments…I think that everyone likes that!

Welcome to all the new members!

The cookbook on top of my wish list is “Modern Baker” by Nick Magileri.

Welcome new members! I have successfully added you all to my reader, so I don’t miss a post, and I’d love to get to know you!

To be honest, my book that I desperately want is “Baked: New Frontiers in Baking”. I must be one of the only people left who doesn’t have it! Ok, I might be exaggerating a tiny bit there… Either that, or Peter Reinhart’s “Bread Bakers Apprentice”, because I’m getting back into bread baking, little by little.

Welcome new bakers. I’ve only had a chance to get to know Joy a little bit!

Boy, that’s a tough one. I would have to say America’s Test Ktichen Family Baking Book, Baking for All Occasions (Flo Braker) and The Art & Soul of Baking (Cindy Mushet). In that order. Sorry, I couldn’t pick one. According to my husband I’ve already exceeded the book purchase budget for the year (just bought The Weekend Baker by Abby Dodge). I think we need to talk… :o)

welcome to the new members!!

it’s hard to pick a favorite but I have to say that after all the baking we have done for TWD, my favorite book is BFMHTY 🙂

Welcome to all new SMS bakers!!! This is a great group, lots of fun.
I have probably bought, no kidding (is DH looking?), 15+ books lately, yes I’m out of control. But my next book will be Rose’s Heavenly Cakes by Rose Levy Beranbaum, I have it on pre-order, LOL.

Hi Everyone!

I’m Joy of Hot Oven, Warm Heart, one of the newbies 🙂 I just recently started blogging, and the experience has been extremely rewarding. The most wonderful part has been getting to know many of you, and I hope to have the opportunity to meet more SMSers very soon! I would love it if you’d stop by my site and say hello- hearing from you guys is super exciting and always brightens my day! Thank you for giving me the opportunity to join this fabulous group- I think it’s the best baking/blogging group on the web and is so much fun to be a part of!

I always have cookbooks on my mind, on a wish list, and sitting in my cart on Amazon! Right now I have my eye on Tartine, The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, and Baked. I actually have a copy of the last that I purchased as a gift, and to be honest, I’m having a hard time wrapping and parting with it! Hopefully soon, I’ll have my own copy- something to look forward to! And all the suggestions here are giving me more to crave, but you can never have too many cookbooks, right?

Hope to hear from more of all you amazing blogging bakers soon!

-Joy
http://hotovenwarmheart.wordpress.com/

I have myself in cookbook detention. No more cookbooks for me until I clear out some of the books that I never use. I just don’t have enough room for them!
Now, when I do have room for more books, I really want Nick Malgieri’s Modern Baker and Cookies Unlimited. I’m also searching for a copy of Maida Heatter’s Cookies (though truth be told, I’d like to have all of her cookbooks). I have a couple of Peter Rheinhart’s books but I’d like a copy of Crust and Crumb someday. Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything, Shirley Corriher’s Bakewise, and Ina Garten’s Back to Basics rounds out my wish list. I couldn’t pick just one book, sorry. And I do wish that I had the wherewithal to cook from all of these books!
Welcome new members! I have been so MIA from SMS this summer, sorry! I just haven’t had great blogging motivation lately. So, while I’ve made many of the recipes, only a few have gotten posted. New SMS friends will inspire me to get back in gear (hopefully!).

I’m another newbie! Thanks for warm welcome! I just received my Sweet Melissa cookbook in the mail and an anxious to get started.

The number one baking book on my wish list is Dorie’s Baking From My Home to Yours. I’ve got a birthday coming up and it’s number 1 on my wish list.

Look forward to blogging with everyone!

Welcome to all the newest members. I’m kind of new to this blogging thing and am really enjoying it as well- even if it does keep me up past my bedtime! I’m with Jessica- I really need to start using all the cookbooks I already have. But I was really inspired by Peter Reinhart’s BBA to learn more about the “science” of baking so How Baking Works: Exploring the Fundamentals of Baking Science is on my wish list right now. I have heard great things about the King Arthur Flour cookbook as well.

I am so excited to be a part of this group. I love the Sweet Melissa cookbook and have been thrilled even to read your comments today about “must buy” baking books. I have checked out the Flo Braker and Cindy Mushet (Art and Soul of Baking) from the library and look forward to buying them soon. Some of my favorite recent purchases include the Baked book and Nick Malgieri’s new book. I LOVE them both. Thanks for allowing me to join.

Hi! Thanks for thw earm welcome, couldn’t wait to start baking. I like having people to share my baking experiences with you know what I mean? Most of my friends though I love them very much just don’t get my obsession with new baking books! hahahaha….
The baking cookbook that is #1 on your wish list right now is Indulge by Claire Clark, I just couldn’t find these locally and I’m dying to have it! My favorite book so far is Pierre Herme’s Chocolate book written by Dorie Greenspan. The pictures are GORGEOUS and the recipes/instructions are very detailed and easy to follow.

Welcome to all the new members, especially Joy who I’ve had the pleasure of e-mailing with 🙂

The baking book on my wish list right now is Baking and Pastry: Mastering the Art and Craft by the Culinary Institute of America. Close to 1000 pages! I wouldn’t even know if it would fit in my bookcase since I have so many other cookbooks there that I have barely been able to look through, hah.

Welcome new members! I just made the casatiello from Peter Reinhardt’s Bread Bakers Apprentice yesterday, and, as expected, it was delicious! I think I’m going to have to get me a copy of that book!

The Perfect Scoop – I’ve heard rave reviews from other bloggers, but don’t have the pleasure of owning it.

Welcome to all of the new members! I’ve been having trouble getting around to all of the blogs and commenting the past few weeks but hopefully I’ll get caught up soon!

I really enjoy Baking Illustrated. It’s put together by the editors of Cook’s Illustrated and has some really great recipes. The only downside is that it doesn’t have as many photos as I’d like. Also, I just picked up Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes book and am loving that one so far!

Hullo! I’m a newbie to the group too and I just want to say a big massive thank you for all the warm welcomes!! I’m new to the blogging side of things in general actually (apart from drooling over ’em for a few years now..!) so I’m really happy to have finally sucked up the courage & joined!

I’ve been reading through the comments here and I definitely agree with all the ‘must-haves’ & ‘wished-fors’.. I’ve definitely got ‘Modern Baker’, ‘Bakewise’ and ‘Baked’ on my to-die-for-list at the moment, and I can cetainly vouch for Dorie’s BFMHTY, Peter Reinhart’s BBA and Rose’s Pie & Pastry Bible – but my #1 must-have suggestion is ‘In the Sweet Kitchen’ by Regan Daley.. it’s a fantastic baking encyclopedia offering brilliant tips & how-to’s, a load of gorgeous recipes (I’ve tried about a dozen and they’ve all turned out brilliantly), PLUS a fantastic flavour pairing chart – perfect when you need inspiration!!

I am not a new member (yet)! I did send an email to join, though. I thought I’d enter the contest anyway. My newest baking cookbook is Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes. There are tons of creative ideas and lots of great pictures. I have 3 kids, so I’m always baking cupcakes for something.

Hi! Welcome to all new members. I’m afraid I won’t be able to join you guys for the entire month of August as my culinary classes in manila will be in full swing. Be back by september.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
