Sweet Melissa Sundays

Strawberry Ruby Grapefruit Preserves P&Q

Posted on: July 20, 2009

A P&Q on time – miracles do happen.  Have fun with this one – will be fun to see how every chooses to use the preserves.

23 Responses to "Strawberry Ruby Grapefruit Preserves P&Q"

I made this yesterday! I actually made a half-recipe and it’s still a lot of preserves. I would consider a 1/3 or a 1/4 of a recipe if you don’t want a lot.

I had no problems or issues. It tastes great!

Unfortunately, I’m going to sit this one out… we’re going to Hershey Park this weekend.

Since this one has grapefruit juice and zest, are we still supposed to use the lemon/orange juice and zest called for in the recipe?

Jen-
When I made this I just used grapefruit juice and zest, and I can’t imagine doing it differently! It was pretty tart, so I think you’re supposed to use the grapefruit in place of the lemon/orange.

I plan on making these as a filling for some vanilla cupcakes. I’m still debating whether or not to make theme strawberry cupcakes with a kiwi frosting. I guess I’ll see =]

Actually looking it over, I may just make strawberry cupcakes and a regular buttercream frosting =]

Great, thank you Melissa!

Thanks for the tip on the generous recipe size; I was planning on making a whole recipe but maybe I’ll scale it back a bit. It’s my week hosting and I planned to make the preserves over the weekend, but I got too busy.

Oh NIna that is a wonderful idea. I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Im going on a little weekend trip this week and may not get to this. I will try my best though!

Thinking of making the strawberry-rhubarb version instead (lots of unused rhubarb in my garden). That would be OK, wouldn’t it?

Hanaa Strawberry and Rhubara go well together. My friend makes that kind of pie and it is great. Im sure it would be great in preserves!
I decided to sit this one out. We are leaving Friday and Im not going to have time to do this recipe. Sorry!

I didn’t realize it until I chose this recipe, but each type of preserve in the book is regarded as a separate recipe. That version sounds good too, though!

I halved the recipe for this one! I still have a tonne of jam from my last creation. My house smells so yummy!

Katie xox

I finally made the both the preserves and cupcakes. and 1/4 of the recipe fit perfectly into my 24 cupcakes! No leftovers!

I halved it too Katie and completely echo your sentiments on the scent – it is phenomenal!!

Are we going to get the list of Aug. recipes soon? Im trying to plan ahead as Aug. is a busy month!

When I made this, we all thought the house smelled like a candy factory or something. We had the windows open and even the backyard smelled delicious!

I just finished making Strawberry Rhubarb preserves (sans orange zest). It is delicious. If you’re thinking of skipping this week’s recipe, don’t! I made 1/4 of the recipe and it took me 40 min from start to finish. After the mixture reached 212 F, it only 15 more minutes to get to the right thickness. Make it, you won’t be sorry.

Forgot to mention… I just had it on toast (I know, it’s 9:00pm). Yum!

I agree. I need to get my ingredients much ahead of time since I dont have time during the week to get them. If they could be put up before the end of this weekend that would be great!

I made it last night; I did the whole recipe and canned it. I don’t know what you would do with an entire batch of this if you didn’t can it – it really makes a lot!

Does anyone have tips about auto-posting on blogger? From what I understand, you change the date and time under “post options,” hit publish post when you’re done, and then it becomes “scheduled” until the selected time when it auto-posts. It’s worked twice for me and every other time I’ve tried, my post has remained in my post list as “scheduled.” I’m running a half-marathon tomorrow morning, so I need to go to bed and get up early (and not be worried about whether or not my post published).

Hi friends!
I thought that I had everything I needed to make this, but I looked in the fridge and no apple! oops! I will make this at some point this week, and then I’ll do a double post next week.

I wasn’t going to participate this week but soooo glad that I did. The preserves are delicious. Thanks for all the helpful tips before I got started. I guess that is a good thing about getting started late.

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
