Sweet Melissa Sundays

Brown Sugar Vanilla Ice Cream P&Q

Posted on: June 29, 2009

Happy 4th of July everyone.

21 Responses to "Brown Sugar Vanilla Ice Cream P&Q"

Made this one this weekend- soooo good. Nice creamy texture that holds up in the freezer. Going to make the hot fudge sauce tomorrow

I don’t have an ice cream maker. Any way of doing this by hand?

Ohh… I love to make ice cream and this one sounds delicious!

HELP!!!!

i’m ready to make this one, since im hosting this… but can anyone tell me if skim milk powder comes in a small container. ive looked at few markets in NJ and they’re all these huge CASES of it. I dont want to spend over $7 on a case of milk powder when i only need 1/4 cup. Think i can get away w/o it???

Karen-

I’ve been thinking about this for the last 2 weeks. I read somewhere that you might be able to sub non dairy powdered creamer for it, but I don’t think I’m going to chance it. I would hate to risk messing it up with that.

Like you, the smallest container I’ve seen is that giant box that’s close to $8. If there is a long shelf life on it, I guess I’ll suck it up and buy it. I don’t want to miss the recipe, because it sounds fantastic.

I guess I could try making this by hand, but I was going to sit this out. Maybe i’ll start on it tomorrow =]

I was planning on using non-fat dry milk powder from Carnation (http://www.verybestbaking.com/products/carnation/dry/). At my stores, they sell small boxes ($4) and large boxes. If your only option is to use a big box, I’d buy it. It has a long shelf life and I use it every time I make bread. I like it better than using “liquid milk” in my bread dough. Just my $0.02. Good luck!

Thanks, Hanaa — i have a few more days to hunt it down… if not, im just going to buy the caseload!

I found milk powder at Safeway, but I was wondering if skim milk is essential. I usually buy 1% for cereal and whole for baking and ice cream, and would prefer to not buy skim.

I may be skipping the milk powder entirely. I’m moving in a couple of months and have been working to whittle down the contents of my kitchen – it’s not a good time to be adding a big box when I only need 1/4 cup. I’ll let you know how that goes!

I used 1% milk and it was fine. This ice cream is really, really good. I only made 1/2 a recipe, and I really wish that I’d made more!

My commissary only sells the huge box and there is no way I’d use it all before I move in 3 months. So… I am going the powdered creamer way. I am making the ice cream today. I’ll let you all know how it turns out!

I’m having the same problem Karen! I really don’t want to buy the huge box of milk powder either but that’s all I’ve been able to find. If you’re successful in finding a smaller box please let us know!

Update: I used Coffeemate French Vanilla powdered creamer in place of the dry skim milk and the ice cream turned out great! Just another option for those who don’t want to buy a big box of powdered milk. 🙂

I made the icecream mix on Monday night and churned it last night. I totally left out the skim milk powder. Didn’t even substitute anything else in. And it was still great. (I’m just too cheap to buy a whole box of it.)

I also didn’t have any vanilla beans, so I just used about a teaspoon and a half of vanilla extract.

Well, I just put my ice cream stuff in the freezer and we’ll see if david lebovitz’s method of making ice cream without a ice cream machine works or not…

well its all done now and it’s pretty good. I mean it’s got some ice crystals in it, but if you let it melt in your mouth a little…its the same!

i caved and bought the huge box

I thank you everyone that made this with me this week. If anyone is interested in getting the skim milk powder, please shoot me an email with your mailing address and i’ll send you some. I do have a ton NOW that i bought the case!

Hi guys, sorry bout the skim milk powder. it is worth the price on the big box. But you can also use it in the sour cherry and almond granola, which may just become a staple , cuz it’s that good! OK, you can do the ice cream without, but with, the texture is sublime…

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
