Sweet Melissa Sundays

Double Chocolate Cherry Cookies P&Q

Posted on: June 23, 2009

22 Responses to "Double Chocolate Cherry Cookies P&Q"

These sound so good. I haven’t looked at the recipe yet but they sound great . My husband loves cherries and chocolate!

It took me awhile to find the cherries but i finally found them — i cant wait to make these!

I made these today and left the cherries out. I remember Steven does not like cherries in his cookies. We made something like this with TWD! They are wonderful without the cherries.

I made these yesterday and found that 15 minutes made them too crunchy. If you like a softer cookie (as Melissa suggests in the book), make the cooking time a bit less!

Lauren, I wish I had read your comment before I baked mine!!! I also found that 15 minutes was too long. Another tip: I surprisingly loved the cherries in the cookies, but they were so big that there was maybe one per cookie, so most of the bites had no cherry in them. If I make these again, I’ll snip the cherries into quarters using my kitchen shears so that they’re more the size of raisins or dried cranberries.

I made these cookies and I think that I cooked them for about 10-12 minutes. It’s impossibly hard to tell if they’re close to done because they’re so dark, but I took mine out when they started to crack on top and then let them cool on the sheets for a little bit. They are dangerously good! I was also surprised by how much I loved the cherries in these cookies. I made 1/2 with and 1/2 without and I like the cookies with cherries even more than the plain cookies.

Can I get some peoples’ opinions? I’m having a really hard time finding dutch process cocoa, and I’m debating if I’m actually going to make these as a result. I found one way to mess with the leavening to compensate for the difference in acidity between dutch process and not, but right underneath says you shouldn’t use them interchangeably- but since I’m not making a cake or anything, maybe it’s not such a big deal if the leavening is off? Does anyone know more about this, or bake the cookies using regular cocoa with success?

I never know the difference between the cocoa powders. In England we pretty much just have cocoa powder and that’s it. I’ve always wondered how the two differ.

I do plan on making mine with dried cranberries and we’ll see how it goes without the dutch processed cocoa. I’m kind of on the poor side being a college student and all. I’ll see how it goes.

I did find this on a website saying that you can substitute natural cocoa powder with some baking soda in place of the dutch processed. I also don’t have baking soda. I guess I’ll just make it work….

Substitution for 3 tablespoons (18 grams) Dutch-processed cocoa: 3 tablespoons (18 grams) natural cocoa powder plus pinch (1/8 teaspoon) baking soda

Read more: http://www.joyofbaking.com/cocoa.html#ixzz0JOQlRpLd&C

Nina,

That’s the same website I was looking at! But then right under those conversions, it says that you shouldn’t substitute one for the other, which I thought was really weird. I think that’s what I’m going to do for mine, I guess. And I totally hear you on the “college student” thing! Thanks!

Here is a quote from Baking: From My Home to Yours, by Dorie Greenspan:

“While Dutched cocoa is often used in recipes with baking powder and natural cocoa is used in recipes with baking soda, you will not see appreciable differences if you use the cocosa interchangeably in these recipes.”

I always use natural cocoa and have never noticed a problem…

I’ve never had a problem with reg cocoa powder either- I hope to make these tonight or tomorrow so I’ll let you know if it is an issue. Hoping this dough freezes well too!

I used Hersheys cocoa powder and the cookies were great.

I just used regular cocoa powder and didn’t have a problem. They were delicious! I also chopped my cherries into quarters so that they were about the size of raisins. One more thing, even though it has been already said-don’t overbake. I think that is a key point to this recipe. My first batch came out just right at 15 min. The second was a little overdone at 15. I would recommend maybe puling them out at 13 to check.

I use Bournville, it’s a type of luxury dark chocolate in he UK and I’ve never had a problem with it. I’m going to look into this more, i’m intrigued with different cocoas now :p

I thought these cookies were really easy and a nice change of pace. I only cooked mine for 10 minutes and they were still a bit firm, at 15 they would have been burned. We made ice cream sandwiches with ours and they were delicious.

[…] ensure adequate moisture after a trip through the oven. Following the advice of some of the other SMS bakers, I watched the cookies carefully, and pulled them out about 1 minute early, which ensured a soft […]

[…] final result? Amazing. I followed the SMS bakers’ advice to watch the cookies carefully before the 15 minute mark the book suggests to avoid overbaking. I […]

Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery.

I myself has been trying to solve the mystery of the legend that forces you to have “earn it before

having it”, for a wile now. Could not understand much though.

Let me know in case you get to understand the mystery of the Old Hound and the Legend

By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

Man, I followed that the dark truth link, and was completely in the story. Damn exciting. The latest post talks about a friend of him who’s gone missing . Somewhere on his way to Leh, India. And the guy is asking for help find it. Soundss like an online game . This looks interesting. M already hooked on.

Hey, btw, nice post you have there – keep rocking – 😉

Hello – I am trying to get the recipe for Strawberry Shortcakes. It was posed on Tracy’s Culinary Adventures blog spot and she said the recipe was on the blog spot of “……stripes” or something like that. When I tried to get on that blog spot, it was a protected blogspot and I do not know how to get into a protected blogspot. All I want is the recipe for the delicious-looking strawberry shortcakes pictured on Tracys….. – can you help me get this recipe?
Thank you, Janine Medina

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
