Sweet Melissa Sundays

Bee Stings P&Q

Posted on: May 30, 2009

Soooo sorry, totally forgot about this since I am in vacation in Hawaii, thanks for the reminder Jamie.  I’ll catch up with ya’ll and other admin tasks when I get back on Tuesday.  Thanks, Lorelei

22 Responses to "Bee Stings P&Q"

Oh no, I’ve just brunt mine. haha!

Because I’m super indecisive, maybe you guys can give me some advice. I’ve debated skipping this week. I don’t have a mixer with dough hook attachments. The recipe says that we’re supposed to let the dough hook work the dough for 10-15 minutes; I’m not sure I can even do that by hand. Thoughts? Advice?

I made my buns last night and I found this dough pretty tricky. I had to add a lot more flour and I kneaded close to 20 minutes with the machine. Dough hadn’t really formed a ball and was still sticking to the sides of the bowl but at that point I gave up and stuck it in another bowl for its first rise. It didn’t look like it rose much (even after 3 hours) but it was late and I was tired so I shaped into rolls and went to bed. This morning did oven rise – still didn’t look like they rose much. I baked anyway. They were pretty tasty but I don’t know if the shape is right. A few of mine cracked too.

Wow, that was long – sorry! Elyse – just my opinion but I don’t know if it’d be possible to knead this dough by hand. It’s a really soft dough. I’ll be curious to see how everyone else fares.

Ditto! And very sticky as I was shaping the rolls… VERY sticky! 🙂 Mine don’t look ANYTHING like Melissa’s, but they were still really yummy!

I had trouble with the dough too, added a tonne more flour than I was supposed to! I used chestnut honey for the glaze and it didn’t taste very good, oop!

Katie xox

Thanks, Tracey! I may sit this one out and save my arms the soreness 🙂

I was concerned b/c I have never seen a yeast dough recipe where there is only an exact amount of flour – this always has to vary based on moisture in your kitchen, the flour, etc. so it would be hard for someone who has never worked with yeast before.

I think you can definitely make it by hand if you are willing to do a lot of kneading but am I fairly certain that you will have to add more flour until it is no longer sticky. I had to add quite a bit more flour to mine before it would stop sticking to the sides of the bowl. I lost track of how much I added but it was at least 1/4 cup more.

I also had issues w/the pastry cream. I am used to making Dorie’s pastry cream and this one took forever to thicken up. I thought at first it was b/c my water was just at a simmer (since Melissa says not to boil it) but after whisking for over 20 min, I increased the heat to get the water to a boil… I then whisked for probably another 40 min until it started to thicken just slightly. It never got super thick like Dorie’s (where it takes extra strength to whisk it) but gave up and stuck it in the fridge. The next morning it was thicker but not nearly as thick as most pastry creams – not sure if this is Melissa’s intention. It reminds me of the cream you would find in a cream-filled donut.

I’ve got my buns in the oven now (after allowing it to rise for 1.5 hrs – I did not use “rapid rise yeast”) so we’ll see how it all turns out.

I just finished baking mine – they were golden brown after just 19 minutes (and I know my oven temp was correct b/c I have an oven thermometer) – so just be careful to keep an eye on them so you don’t burn them!

I don’t think I’m going to be able to make these this weekend, hopefully I can get them done sometime next week and post them on the following Sunday. They sound so yummy though, I can’t wait to try them out myself 🙂

I’m out of town, so I’m skipping the Bee Stings for now. I do want to make them (I probably would have chosen this for my week if it hadn’t been chosen yet), but it’ll have to be in a few weeks. Good Luck everybody!!

Great comments and suggestions on the directions of this recipe. I don’t have a standing mixer and I’ve recently had shoulder surgery, so I’m afraid that I won’t be able to bake along with you all this week. Have fun & I hope that everyones Bee Stings turn out really good.

I just started this. I used the mixer with the dough attachment and after 20 minutes of “kneading” the dough was still sticking to the bowl, like Tracey’s. Almost 2 hours later and the dough still hasnt risen. I’m going to leave it out for one more hour and pop them in the fridge and hope for the best tomorrow.

Karen did you see my comment above? it doesn’t matter how long you “knead” it in your mixer – you need to add more flour until it no longer sticks to the bowl – add about 1 tbsp at a time. A tip to help it rise – preheat your oven for a minute to get the temp up to about 80-90F, then turn it off. Put your dough in there to warm/rise and shut the oven door. Works like a charm for me every time.

I am excited to make the Bee Stings, but will not be able to get them accomplished before the posting date. We have a couple people visiting us, and I have been playing tourist guide.

I am looking forward to seeing how the Bee Stings turned out for everyone!

I thought they were delicious but i had a hard time getting the dough to rise. I had to make two batches and with the second I heated the milk and butter. The buns looked really brown after 15 minutes, they cooked really fast. I also didn’t like the two day wait. Next time I will cook the same day.

I added 8 Tbsp more flour (about 2 oz). I also heated the milk (thought it was kinda weird that there were no warm liquids in the recipe especially since it’s a yeast dough). Instead of the mixer, I used my bread machine and put it on the “dough” cycle. The dough is in its first rise right now. I use the microwave for that. Take a cup of water. Bring it to a boil in the microwave. Turn off the microwave, leave the cup of hot water in it and put your dough (in a bowl and covered with plastic wrap) in it. Shut the door. I find that the warm and humid environment works great with yeast doughs. Given the amount of butter and sugar in the recipe, I don’t expect the dough to rise much. I’ve also decided to skip the overnight refrigeration step and do the baking today. One more thing: instead of the pastry cream, I’ve made an eggless (cornstarch-based) butterscotch pudding. Figured it would go well with the honey caramel glaze.

Sorry for the long read… have fun everybody. Can’t wait to see how mine as well as yours turn out.

Hey guys, so since everyone’s said if you don’t have a stand mixer these are going to be hellacious, I think I’m going to skip them. Well, that, and I was visiting my parents this past week and left the book there! I’m going to do the honey beescotti instead, since I wasn’t around when everyone did them. I’m really excited to see how everyone’s Bee Stings turn out, though! It sounds like they’ve been really tricky…

eeeeep, I’m out all day today so I’ll be posting my bee stings tomorrow. Sorry guys, I’m naughty!

OMG! I totally didnt see your comment about adding more flour. My dough didnt rise at all…. i gave up. Sorry… but i missed this one this week. I’ll be sure to read thru all the comments and give it another try during the week. Another mistake i think i made was cutting the recipe in half and trying to make 6 bee stings rather than 12.

I’m going to have to skip this week too- we had my brother-in-law’s wedding this weekend and was exhausted after all the festivities. I hope to make them soon though- my three year old saw a picture of the bee stings and got really excited about them. Maybe next week when things slow down a bit…

I had to post late, too… just got mine up…

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
