Sweet Melissa Sundays

Strawberry Shortcakes P&Q

Posted on: April 27, 2009

This sounds like a great one Wendy.

23 Responses to "Strawberry Shortcakes P&Q"

I made these the other night and they are ridiculously good. I made half of a recipe and it made 3 big shortcakes. The recipe halves really easily but the shortcakes get much bigger as you bake them. I didn’t think that they would end up being nearly that big. So, if you’re thinking mini then make sure to account for the baking expansion.

i made this too…. and lets just say…. my cakes werent cakes at all. =(

I made this last Sunday – 1/4 of the recipe – and I ended up with 1 large shortcake. I haven’t eaten it yet, but it sure looks good and the recipe was super simple to do.

I just noticed the bee stings for May 31!

I’m going to apologize (early and often!) to Wendy: I don’t think I can bake these this week, although the recipe looks amazing, and I will be checking out everyone’s shortcakes.
Nancy

No need to apologize!

I made them already and had no issue, other than that they were ridiculously good. I brought the extra biscuits to work this morning and they were gobbled up.

Karen–what do you think went wrong?

I made these last night and loved them. I usually make my own shortcakes but the addition of lemon zest made these out of this world! I definately have a new shortcake recipe now! 🙂

What a great pick, Wendy!

Strawberry shortcakes are one of our family favorite desserts and I make them all the time, so I am really excited to do a little strawberry shortcake taste-off with our current favorite recipe and the Sweet Melissa recipe, should be lots of fun 🙂

I have no idea…. my shortcakes came out flatter than biscuits — they were more like hockey pucks!

Im so excited to make these. I have never made my own shortcakes before. Im sure these are tons better then the little spongy ones you buy at the store!

Looking forward to making these! Never had or made shortcakes before so should be interesting :o) Will probably cut the recipe in half (seems to have worked for some of the SMS bakers).

I just made these, and they are amazing. Amazing. I love the lemon zest in them. I made these with agave instead of sugar, and they turned out beautifully. I’ll definitely be making these again!

I made half a batch last night and they were delicious. On a totally unrelated note, I just bought some sourdough starter from KAF, and I think I’ve already killed it! It has developed exactly 5 bubbles in as many hours. Does anybody have any sourdough starter tips? It’s my first time.

I don’t have any sourdough tips other then I heard your supposed to use a wooden spoon only.
Ok the Strawberry shortcake is drop dead wonderful! I made it following the recipe to a T. The cakes came out great and everything else came together so well. I have to say this is one of my very favorites now!

I cut the recipe in half and made these today. They are great and super easy to make. The shortcake was tender on the inside and crunchy on the outside. By itself, it’s not sweet enough but with the sweetened whipped cream and the macerated strawberries, it was perfect. My only change: I added about 1/8 tsp of freshly ground cardamom to the flour to enhance the lemony flavor from the zest. Loved it!

Forgot to mention that based on others’ input on the shortcakes being really big, I decided to make 4 smaller shortcakes (rather than 3) when I cut the recipe in half. It was easy too. I patted the dough into a square and cut it in 4.

I can’t wait to make these! I love strawberry shortcake so it’d be great to have a go-to recipe (especially over the summer when berries are in season)!

Melissa, give your starter a chance; mine took about 24 hours before it took off. I have ignored it in the refrig for about 6 months and am in the process of bringing it back to life. Did yours come to you dry or wet?

I made a third of a recipe tonight (two large shortcakes), and I agree that they are delicious and easy to put together.

Robin–The starter was wet, and it actually turned out OK. It was a little pokey, but after about a day it was fine. The bread I made wasn’t tangy enough for my liking, but I have more starter in the fridge so I’m going to try another recipe!!

oh MAN! 😦 I was really excited to make this one… but it turns out my BF went in for oral surgery this Thurs and will not be ready for solid food by Sunday (and there is no way I’m going to allow myself to eat this ALL!) I’ll have to skip this week, though I hope to make it up in the near future! Sorry 😦

Karen – sorry your cakes were flat 😦 The only thing I can think of is that your baking soda is old/expired, or you may have overworked the dough. It’s really important with biscuit type dough to handle it as little as possible. I hope you’ll try it again – this recipe was fabulous!

I got flat cakes too, i found the dough way to sticky to avoid massive handling and mishappen – I bet they will taste great, can’t WAIT to eat them.

sorry – I meant to say baking powder, not soda

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
