Sweet Melissa Sundays

Double-crusted Caramel Apple Pie P&Q

Posted on: March 15, 2010

21 Responses to "Double-crusted Caramel Apple Pie P&Q"

I made this today – in honor of pi day. I made it with both pears and apples and it was amazing. Everyone loved it!

Oh yeah, I made it in a 9in pan and only baked for it for about 1 hour.

Despite the fact I didn’t make the carrot cake until today, I made this recipe several weeks ago and it’s really good. Like Nina’s, mine only took about an hour to bake.

I freakin’ can’t wait to make this!!

Katie xox

I look forward to making this…however…I hope my pie crust comes out flaky and delish. I’m a novice when it comes to pie crusts.

I need to make a smaller version- several other things to bake again this week (soda bread, cheesecake…). I was thinking of doing the filling but making it into a turnover with puff pastry. Thoughts? anyone else reducing?

I love apple pie!!! I guess its personal preference… but I thought the caramel sauce was TOO sweet (is that even possible?). And i guess it was the apples i used — but they were too sour. Of course, this tasted amazing warm & with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, which balanced all the flavors.

Sounds like a great idea. I have one sheet of puff pastry in the freezer and it’s a busy week.

This pie sounds amazing! I’m thinking of digging out the pie maker and making minis of these…

I made this several weeks ago. I really liked it, but missed the cinnamon and nutmeg I usually have in my apple pies. The crust was wonderfully flaky.

I made this pie yesterday and thought the apples were to sweet and we could not taste the caramel. I would use different apples and add more caramel. The baking time was so long on this pie. I only baked it for 1 hour.

Ugh pie crusts are such a challenge for me! But they’re on my list to get better at making so I will make this one! :) Which crust did everyone use and how did it work?

I need to make a smaller version. Too many sweets. Wondering if this could be made in mini tart pan?

Instead of a double-crusted pie, I’m thinking of making either a galette or caramel apple crisp (no crust means less calories). If I go the apple crisp route, I might try the Browned Butter Crisp I recently saw on Chocolate & Zucchini (I love the taste of browned butter). Turnovers sound really good too! Lots of options… :o)

I made Melissa’s all-butter pie crust. I added the max amount of water recommended and the dough was a bit sticky when I rolled it out, but it baked up fine and it was yummy.

I haven’t actually tried baking pies in my mini tart pan, just tart dough, but I assume it would work okay.

I was going to make a pie…but, being the creative soul that I am, I will do something mini…’cause I got inspiration from something that caught my eye today. ;)

I’m so impressed by all of you that formulate a plan and even bake more than a day in advance. SMS rarely gets made before Saturday here, and that’s generally about a time I come up with a plan too :)

You all have some great ideas! I’ve never made a pie crust and I’m not sure if I’m up for the challenge. I like Hanaa’s apple crisp idea.

I agree about the crusty Susan – it was amazing! I missed the spices too, but I still enjoyed the pie a lot.

I made very tiny minis – can’t wait to share tomorrow :)

Ack, I still have to make this! Going to bake it later and try and get it posted tonight!

Katie,

I can so relate! I did start planning earlier in the week. But, had lots going on this week. I did make the recipe on time, but it was Saturday night and I STILL had not written the blog. When I realized it, I had to start immediately…tired as I was…late Saturday night.

I need another cup of java!

Here’s my version…

Baking is my Zen…sweet nibbles for the soul

http://bakingismyzen.blogspot.com/2010/03/double-crusted-caramel-apple-pie-pops_20.html

Have a great day Bakers! Gorgeous day out today.
Carmen

Comments are closed.

This blog is a baking group using The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. We are in no way affiliated with Melissa Murphy or her bakery Sweet Melissa Patisserie. We're just fans of the cookbook and bakery!
Photobucket

Membership Openings

Sweet Melissa Sundays is now closed.

Our FINAL Recipes

June 19: Pistachio Opera Fudge hosted by Ellen of Blue Tree Green Heart

July 10: Plum Raspberry Pie with a Sweet Almond Lattice hosted by Gloria of The Ginger Snap Girl

July 24: Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Feta, and Oregano Muffins hosted by Rebecca of Beurrista

August 7: Cinnamon Peach Preserves hosted by Tess of Cookin Chemist

August 21: Hot Pepper Gingerbread Muffins with Orange Maple Butter hosted by Karen of Karens Cookies Cakes & More
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

